Friends Who Drop By

Two women knitters with blogs, holding up thei...

Two women knitters with blogs, holding up their knitting. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I feel I have a great friend when I can just drop by and she can do the same. That’s what happened today. My friend called as she was going for a coffee and when I said come on down, she did.  How sweet was that!  Not only did she drive all the way to Torbay, but she brought me a large, I mean medium Timmy’s decaf. Now that the sizes are changed, I still get confused.

There was so much to say to one another, as my friend had just gotten a new grandchild. Also she had been sick for a while with a bad cold. So just sitting and chatting for a couple of hours was not hard to do. I had a big trip to tell her about and she had tons of stuff to share. What can be better than that? I even forgot to show her my Joan Leonard creations which I ordered from British Columbia.(www.joanleonard.ca).  I wanted to show her my photos of Mexico but forgot those as well! Oh, well, there will be more visits, I’m sure.

As we were sitting sharing blog entries we’ve read and learned from, we understood each other perfectly. I read words from blogs she recommended and learned something new. We agreed that certain bloggers teach their readers and others entertain. And some do both. We both started blogging around the same time. I urged her to start once I found it so rewarding. She also encouraged her sister to become a blogger.

Every day we email each other or talk on the phone. We keep in touch by reading each others’ blog posts. Often when she writes something in her blog, I know that I’m in that story or I’ve heard the story before.  Sometimes it’s a surprise, like when she writes about her home town of Grand Falls. I really enjoy when she pokes fun at herself and getting older. She can be hilarious.

I first met my friend Judith when her friend Agnes rented a basement apartment from me. Agnes and I became very good friends as well. When Agnes died after being sick for a while at a young age, Judith and I began meeting for coffee, and now we do many outings and adventures together.  She invited me to her daughter’s wedding and she’s visited my home in St. Shotts.  We’ve learned a lot about each other and our families. We feel comfortable in each other’s company. Lately she’s been teaching me to play the guitar and also to crochet more complicated patterns. 

It is so nice to have friends who are like family, and who pop by for a visit every once and awhile.

 

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Friends Who Drop By

  1. elspethc says:

    How many different kinds of good fortune there are – as well as the grief of losing another friend young. I wonder what Agnes would have thought of blogging? Sorry she missed all of this stuff but she was catalyst for you and Judith to meet. Happy chatting

    • my friend encouraged Agnes to rent the apartment. She told her not only will you have a nice landlady but also a good friend. And we did become very good friends! Agnes was such a nice lady. We both miss her every day.

  2. Wonderful story of how important good friends are and what joy they bring to our lives. I have 3 best friends who live an 8 hour drive away, so we don’t see each other too often, but when we do, it’s as though we talk everyday! I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s passing, but holding onto those wonderful memories keeps her in your heart~

  3. Awwww… you brought a tear to me eye. And I do agree with you. It is sooo nice to have a friend who is as comfortable being around as my own sister. Thank you, Pauline.

  4. Reblogged this on grandfallswoman and commented:
    This is such a flattering post I simply had to reblog it. Thank you my friend, Pauline.

  5. Ada Briem says:

    What a pleasure to know that my fabulous niece, Judy has such a wonderful friend.

  6. Dor says:

    Oh, I know how sweet it is to meet with friends you are so comfortable with. Your post is lovely for the feelings it brings up of long pleasant talks, sharing, and remembering good times. Here’s to friendship! And Thanks for sharing.

    • You are always so positive and encouraging. Thanks once again for responding to my post today! Friends and family who care about one another-life can’t get much better than this!

      >________________________________

  7. Nothing better than having a good friend to chat with over a coffee/tea! You are blessed.

  8. Pingback: Truly Blessed By The Help of Technology « newfoundlandtraveller

  9. Lori says:

    Close friends are such a blessing! I have a small group of girlfriends that have been together since we were in school. We still meet for dinner once a month and go on weekend getaways when we can. I always cherish our “girltime”.

Leave a Reply

