Who’ll stop the rain?

And the rain starts

I love to hear the rain hitting against my window when I’m trying to relax and settle down to sleep. It’s seems that it’s akin to a mother rocking her child in a special chair. Mother Nature is soothing our nerves, with the pitter patter on the glass. Heart rates decrease and the mind settles down to a calmness. It’s as if there’s a slight drumming of a beat that is just for me. Of course, it has to sound different on different windows but there’s a sandman message just for me.

 I’ve always wanted to walk more in the rain. I want to get soaked in a warm rain, with the sun coming out immediately afterwards and drying my clothing and hair. One evening stands out in my memory when I was a student at Memorial University and I was living in an apartment on campus with three other girls. We decided we wanted to go walking in the rain, and boy, did we ever have fun! We were all soaked when we returned but we were energized and full of life! My mind had wandered back to that day often over the years.

It gives me a safer feeling when I’m sitting alone on my chesterfield, and the rain is coming down in sheets or buckets.  I know there is no one venturing out to break into my house or make my life miserable. I understand I’m being naive in thinking that people looking for drug money or someone needing a ride won’t bother anything of mine, but it is a good feeling. It’s similar to no one going outside much in a snowstorm. They’d all rather stay put, going no where, if possible. I know I’m assuming a lot, but it’s what you believe in your mind that matters. The anxiety and fear dissipate for me when I know that the winds are at 100 km an hour and there is some kind of precipitation.

Have you ever taken a quick nap in the daytime when the rain is belting against your doors and windows? You close your eyes and you don’t feel guilty at all, and before you know it, you are in la-la land. There is no one judging or screaming at you to get to work. You are on your own and you feel like it’s a ceasefire or a remission of sorts. Your head nods, your mouth opens and a snore cuts through the air. The man above has set it up to give you a rest from your toils. You awaken minutes later feeling refreshed, rejuvenated!  No need to stop the rain……

raining sheets

raining sheets (Photo credit: mytimemachine)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’ll stop the rain?

  1. Dor says:

    Good one! I love the rain too and I could almost hear it on my windowpanes as I was reading your post. Even wind gives me that safe, protected, in-the-womb feeling of safety and security you talk about. Thanks for sharing and reminding me of the bounty of nature in more ways than one.

    • Rain has a calming effect on me. I know if there is too much rain and it causes flooding, that would not be calming. I have had a basement flooded many years ago, and I did not enjoy that much rain. The street became a river, and I needed a sump pump to get the water out of my basement. I feel badly for people in this predicament. Most of the time, however, rain is just calming and enjoyable.

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

