The Bahia Principe in Punta Cana 2010

Beautiful Main Lobby Flower Arrangement

I thought I would showcase some of my favorite photos of our trips to various resorts. This was a beautiful resort with many beautiful people and landscapes.

“]

The Front Desk at the Bahia Principe

It wouldn’t be a great trip without a good story to go along with it. Now, would it?

The day of our flight to Punta Cana I went to Water Street to get some U.S. money and to put my jewelry in my safety deposit box. I parked wihout a hassle and since I was too early for the bank, I decided to go into the Model Shop which sells high end clothing, prom dresses and tuxedoes included. I knew from past shopping there that they have a rack of sale clothing at the back of the store, so I wished everyone a good morning and walked back to the sales dresses. I was taking my time when I heard a chipper voice behind me.

Good morning!

Yes, and a good morning to you!

I notice you are looking at the dresses. Are you going somewhere special?

Yes, as a matter of fact I’m going to Punta Cana today, and I’m looking for a sundress.

Here’s one that is very flattering and you can get a lot of use out of it.

It was a gorgeous black dress, but I am not fond of black on vacation. We got to talking some more.

So where are you going, if you don’t mind me asking?

We’re going to the Bahia Principe, for the first time.

I can hardly believe my ears, she said. And it’s funny that you should say that. That’s where my husband and I go every year. And last night I prayed that someone would come along to help me.

I didn’t know how what I could do but I asked anyway “How can I help you?”

Well, my son is there right now and last night he called all upset that he had lost all his money.

You’re kidding?  I could have pinched myself. It send goose bumps all over my body.

No problem, my dear. Get me the money and I’ll deliver it to him. I have three sons and I would want someone to help them if they were in trouble like this.

Now you might think I’m naive and crazy but the woman’s husband came with a brown envelope full of money, and I took it to the young man at the resort. I did not open the envelope. No, I did not!  I told my husband that the woman had prayed all night. And I walked in the door the next morning! What were the chances that I would be going to the same resort as her son? I knew it couldn’t be drugs or anything illegal. In my heart I knew she was not that kind of person. She has stayed awake all night praying, for God’s sake!

Sometimes you just have to believe in divine intervention.  I did not buy any dresses that day, but I gained a friend. I went back after our trip and she gave me a discount on that black dress, but I probably would have bought it without the discount.

The woman’s son was very sweet, and although she thinks he lost the money, I believe that he was the last of the big tippers! He met up with us the next day and we had a nice chat. He sounded like a wonderful young man and I was glad I was able to help him out.

But sometimes when I think about that brown envelope, I wonder what if….???

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Bahia Principe in Punta Cana 2010

  1. Lori says:

    What an amazing story! It does sound like devine intervention, but I would have looked in that envelope girl! The Bahia Principe looks so nice.

  2. Darlene says:

    Great pictures, great story! Can’t wait for more pictures.

Leave a Reply

