Made You Look

Recently I saw this sign on a St. John’s spa. Sadly it closed but the sign is still there.

Have you heard these three words before? It is a catchy phrase, and often it is used after someone fools a friend into looking at something gross or something he or she did not want  to look at.

We used to have a funny verse when I was a child in Pasadean, Newfoundland

Made you look, you dirty crook

You stole your father’s pocket book

I can’t remember the rest of it now, but when I saw that sign on Logy Bay Road, I remembered the dirty crook part, and father’s pocket book. But the spa was a lovely little place.  I went in there one day and had a french manicure and the owner was a lovely young woman.

It makes me sad when I see someone going bust because they couldn’t make a go of a business.

When you hear these words, what do you think about?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Made You Look

  1. You turned it in, you turned it out, you turned it into saurkraut. 🙂

  2. Lori says:

    Childhood games! We had one where the person got punched in the arm if we were able to make them look. silly 🙂

    • Yes, so funny! There was one that was played by teenagers in Pasadena when I was only 14 or 15, where someone would dig an index finger in your neck if you said something funny and everyone would yell “Scri by the……whatever the person said!”
      It was mostly males who played it and I think it was good for bonding.

Leave a Reply

