My Youngest Sister “Helen”

I have five sisters and Helen is the youngest. She was very young when I left home to go to university. Albert was younger, but she was the youngest girl and she was treasured by mom and dad and the rest of us. I did not know a lot about her experiences growing up for I was in my isolated world of academia, trying to get ahead and graduate from our province’s only university. But when I returned at midterms and at the end of semester visits I was amazed at how this little blonde sister of mine had charmed the rest of the family!

To say that Helen was born blessed with good looks is an understatement. She also had the blonde hair and tiny figure much sought after, with no worries about gaining a hundred pounds of flesh that she did not need and would not look good on her tiny frame. Most of the time she could eat whatever she desired and still look svelte and beautiful. When she was young she had ringlets, so when visitors came by the house, they wanted to take her home.  In fact when my mother was very ill and we thought she was going to die, a couple who were very wealthy came by and wanted to adopt her. But my mother, God bless her heart, would not okay that!

Not only is my sister Helen beautiful, she is sweet as she is lovely. She is kind to all her siblings and nieces and nephews.  Over the years she has provided many opportunities for family to bond, over her turkey suppers and generous Christmas gatherings. She never forgets a birthday and is ever ready to offer her advice to those who want to listen. She is ever vigilent of not hurting anyone’s feelings.

After graduating high school Helen left Pasadena and migrated to Ontario which was Newfie heaven at the time.  Every Newfoundlander felt he or she had to go to Toronto for that experience!  Now it is the Alberta oil patch, Fort MacMurray specifically! Helen seemed torn though between Ontario and Newfoundland and returned at one point to train as a dental assistant and lived back in our hometown. She was very successful in achieving high marks but later discovered working with some onerous dentists was not for her!

Helen met her partner and mothered a beautiful daughter Bryanna, who she provides with loving guidance.  She stays at home to raise her daughter and became a homemaker extraordinaire, learning her partner’s favorite recipes of El Salvador, and also knitting and sewing perfect pieces of handiwork. She encourages her daughter in all of her endeavours and is steadfast in providing a wonderful family life.

In recent years my youngest sister had some health issues and has been working hard to make a healthier life for both herself and her family. Today she is having a surgery which has a high success rate, and she is on my mind, as you can tell. I ask for all the prayers you can muster for this young mother of one who needs to survive to continue to enjoy life with her partner Orlando and daughter Bryanna who is only 14 years, and to continue to be with us for many more years to come.

May her guardian angel watch over her in these critical minutes during the surgery and in the next day or so.

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Youngest Sister “Helen”

  1. My prayers to you, your sister and your entire family. Hope all goes well.

    Bruce

  2. Madeline Martin says:

    Thinking about you all. Take care.
    Madeline

  3. nuvofelt says:

    She’s in my thoughts and prayers. I’ll pray for strength for you too.

  4. Lori says:

    Praying for your sister Helen’s speedy recovery and strength for all of your family.

  5. Darlene says:

    Prayers for Helen , her family and you. How wonderful to have a younger sister to love so much. I have no sisters but have a brother 16 years younger than me who I feel the same way about. Sending many positive thougts to the east coast tonight. XO

Leave a Reply

