Do you ever use the word “ossified”?

Signs of alcohol poisoning

Today when I used “ossified” to describe someone, my sister laughed so hard and said “Who uses that word any more?”

I stopped and replied “I do,  all the time!”

In fact when I see or witness someone really drunk, it is the first word that comes to mind and the sentence “He or she is ossified!” means the person is totally out of his/her mind drunk.

Perhaps alcohol poisoning comes to mind. When I was a volunteer with the Telecare Crisis centre, a doctor told us if you gave someone who is really drunk one or two more drinks, it would be alcohol poisoning and the person could die. I remember thinking How can anyone get that drunk?

A vivid memory comes back to me of being in downtown Vancouver the day before going to work at Takla Landing Day School. I recall early in the morning seeing a man lying in the street, either drunk or stoned and feeling helpless to do anything to help him. I wondered at the time, if he was going to die or if later he would get up off the ground and get drunk or stoned again.

Then I think about the people who have become alcoholics and can’t seem to get away from their drug of choice. How sad it is that they spend so many hours each day drinking alcohol, and miss out so much on living a satisfying life with their spouses and families, exploring nature and enjoying the ride sober.

So many images come to mind when I think about the word “ossified”! None of them are pleasant.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you ever use the word “ossified”?

  1. Lori says:

    Addiction is the demon possessing way too many helpless souls.

Leave a Reply

