The Lucky One!

Author Nicholas Sparks at MCB Camp Lejeune sig...

Author Nicholas Sparks at MCB Camp Lejeune signing autographs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nicholas Sparks‘ novel The Lucky One has now been made into a movie and is in the theatres. It is wonderful, so interesting and dramatic.  I was the lucky one who was treated to this movie last night by my sister Theresa. She also treated our sister Helen, her daughter Ashley and her boyfriend. It was a great treat as we had never been to a movie together in years, and that has to be 40 plus years ago.

It seems I’ve been the lucky one since visiting my four sisters. The first night they planned a family get together, and then surprised my niece Helen and me with a birthday cake a week ahead of time.  It was my favorite carrot cake made by Helen and decorated by my niece Bryanna.

All week we’ve been shopping and buying little gifts for each other, and I’ve been the luckiest in finding pottery for $4(two mugs, bowls, small plates and big plates), dresses and baby clothes. I have my Christmas outfit already, and new shoes for $3. How can you get much luckier than that?

I’ve stayed in two homes that are like palaces, with my own bedroom and a fridge to go to whenever I am hungry. Lucky me!  Meals prepared or bought for me each day, and a ride to Tim Horton‘s if I want a coffee. Or use of two Keurigs to make my own brew. And on and on I could go!

So being the eldest of the family has its perks! I really am the lucky one.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Lucky One!

  1. Hey, it’s nice to read about someone else’s perks for a change!
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  2. Darlene says:

    Sounds like you are having a grand time and being treated royally (as you should). It is wonderful to spend time with family.

  3. Dor says:

    You are so fortunate to have such a loving family and what a grand reunion! I am ordering The Lucky One and hope to see the film too. Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

