Cycling Across Canada: Back on Track

A good friend of mine, Madonna Hewitt, cycled across Canada, and I admire her tenacity in doing this long trip. I want to share this with my followers and friends.

Travel Destination Bucket List

Cycling across Canada remains one of my proudest accomplishments, and I am happy to be back on track, sharing the experiences of my Trans Canada journey.

When I left off, I had travelled across the magnificent Rockies, hiked and relaxed in Banff and Lake Louise, and head out for a few days of fun in Calgary.  It was surprising that I had met so few cyclists doing the same trans Canada journey – after all, I had read that close to 1,000 cyclists do it every year, and the best way to cycle across Canada was from the West to the East – the prevailing winds would be in your favour, making for a better trip!

Had a great time in Calgary, but time to get back on track – hit the road – the East coast wasn’t getting any closer with trips to the zoo and nights…

View original post 592 more words

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cycling Across Canada: Back on Track

  1. Darlene says:

    Good for your friend for doing this. The pictures of the prairies made me homesick. A friend of mine, at 70 years old, did the same trip 2 years ago. His wife drove the camper van, set up camp and made dinner for hinm when he arrived so they didn’t need to stay at hotels or eat out. They had champagne on the east coast of Newfoundland when they arrived.

  2. mmartin5577 says:

    One fabulous lady that I am also proud to call my long time friend!

Leave a Reply

