The Softness of Pink Carnations

So many things in life are pink! Rose quartz, sunsets, carnations! Recently my husband surprised me with a bouquet of carnations and they are so soft and delicate looking that they took my heart away!

There seemed to be only 8 or 10 buds opened up in the beginning but each day there are more to look at and admire. The beauty of flowers each day! I can sit for minutes on end staring at the vase of flowers and it calms and nurtures me. Something akin to stop and smell the roses, it’s my stop and view the carnations!

Each person’s gift is a reflection of the giver. My friend Liz knows I like silver earrings so she sends me a different pair each year. My friend Brenda knows I like matching sets of costume jewelry so she finds a set in a color I love. My sons know I love to eat out or shop for books, so I get gift cards for Chapters, Tim Horton’s and the Keg. My friend Judith knows I love to share adventures and meals together so she takes me to Cora’s or a show at the Arts and Culture Center or the spa. My husband knows I don’t need expensive gifts anymore so he surprises me with bouquets of flowers!

While I was in Barrie recently my sisters took me shopping at the Coach Outlet Store and bought me a purse I picked out. It is a joy every time I use it. My niece Helen welcomed us all into her new home and helped prepare a nice lunch of rolls, cold cuts, lettuce, tomato and cheese, along with some cole slaw and macroni salad. We were seated at her beautiful treasured table bought from Italy by her in-laws and served tea, coffee or pop. Then they had a sing-along for my birthday with a nice cake to finish it off.  Although I had a headache I appreciate all they did for me! Thanks, my Ontario relatives! Along with a new dress bought by my sister, and a silver ring given to me by yet another sister, two sweaters by another sister and another silver ring by a brother-in-law, I felt rich indeed! There was nothing I was lacking. Great friendship, great food, and great laughter-what more could one want?

It amazes me each day the surprises that we often take for granted. Today I was surprised by my friend who invited me for one of her wonderful omelets and fruit desserts. Then one of the bookstores called me to let me know a favorite book is now there for me to pick up.  After enjoying a lovely cup of coffee with some crackers and cheese, while staring at my pink carnations, I have an abundance of gratitude for the wonderful life that I sometimes take for granted!

The cards are still on the table, the flowers are opening up more each day, and the memories are here to last a lifetime!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Softness of Pink Carnations

  1. A beautiful post, Pauline.

    • Glad you enjoyed it! I did two for St.Shotts blog…I thought one was funny…Dieting In St.Shotts!!! I’m off to downtown…have to go to Johnson’s and the bank, if I make it!!! I need to pick up a book as well. What are you doing? I’m invited to supper at Brenda’s so I’m looking forward to getting out. I haven’t gone out since the day before yesterday. Have a bit of a headache, so will take off soon. Wuz up?

      >________________________________

  2. Lori says:

    I forgot how much I love carnations. Those are lovely as was this post. 🙂

  3. Lovely post, Pauline, and your carnations are beautiful!

    Lauren 🙂

Leave a Reply

