When You’re Down and Out

Sometimes when you are not on your game, so to speak, you need to recharge your batteries. How might you do that? Well, what gives you energy and a sense of joy may differ from another person. Today I feel like throwing out a question to my many readers, nearly 9000 now! How do you recharge your batteries?  I will list some ways that help me when I feel like I’m in a rut and some of these have worked for me since university days.

Clean

When I clean my office or living room, I see all the things in my life in a sharper focus. I can concentrate better because the papers and dishes don’t get in the way. It’s as if I’ve decluttered my mind and now my brain is alert and ready to work on that project that I’ve been putting off.

Exercise

I have a deadline in my head for the Come Home Year book and it’s today! So when I said no to the deodorant today in lieu of some natural soap, I danced around my house. I planned some exercise for today- 30 minutes on my Gazelle(Tony Little contraption), 40 minute walk with a friend, and perhaps a swim or water aerobics. I may even do a little brain gym to wake me up from time to time, instead of my usual cup of java!

Singing

I sang the silliest of nursery rhymes as I took care of my hygiene today. Then I opted for an oldie ‘Oh Suzanna” as I poured a large glass of water and decided on my breakfast. Singing makes me happy, and makes everyone else unhappy to hear it, but since I’m on a mission a few times a year I sing! When the house is empty only the ghosts and guardian angels are listening. I’m sure whatever beings are present they’re laughing today!

Eating

Food helps with the energy and good mood. So ruby grapefruit, one-quarter of a Montanna’s turkey club sandwich(leftover from the opening of the new store on Stavanger Dr.) and a cup of green tea. This will be helping me for as I eat I will plan out the remainder of my day. The food nourishes and helps me decide to become even healthier.

Treat or Surprise

I love visiting the Rooms to view all the new exhibits and perhaps have a coffee in their cafe overlooking the St. John’s Harbour. This treat refreshes me as I have a Family Pass and although I plan to go there on Mother’s Day, I like to meet a friend there or go along, if no one is available. This can only happen if I finish the book today. I may even surprise myself by going to a different part of the city to explore the shops, to buy a special gift for my new grandson who is due to arrive in the Fall. Or I might treat myself to a new Pandora charm or a pair of silver earrings. Or a special bouquet of flowers might be enticing to add to my pink carnations!

Query:

How do you get yourself out of the dumps or pump yourself up to do a project that is proving long and tiring? I’d love to get a comment from you. It is always nice to hear from my blogosphere friends and my Newfoundland friends/family. Take a minute to like the piece or not like it, and to make a comment. That will surely cheer me up today! Have a good one.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When You’re Down and Out

  1. ethelthedean says:

    I blast some great, uplifting jams (east coast music is often a go-to!) and dance like a maniac around my house. Often my husband will get it on it too, until we collapse with laughter 🙂

  2. I was a bit down the other day and after 3 hours weeding the yard I felt much better. Normally I don’t spend that much time, maybe an hour, and sometimes going outside with a nice beverage and sitting in the shade can do wonders for me. Those are usually the times when a hummingbird will visit and make the whole time magical.
    Other times I put on music that I know will pick me up, and I let it.

  3. Bluegrass amkes me happy!

  4. Darlene says:

    Sounds like you had a stellar day! When I get down or overwhelmed ,I often go for a walk on the beach or read a book, sometimes I even walk on the beach, find the perfect log, and read a book.

  5. Diane Tibert says:

    Singing and dancing are definitely uplifting. Getting outside and working around–gardening, cleaning stalls or grooming the horse–always puts me in good spirits. Usually, I’m not out very long before my inspiration starts churning.

    I’d love to go to The Rooms again. I need to spend a month there.

Leave a Reply

