I Love Seeing The Robins!

American Robin

At this time of year there are robins everywhere in my world.  I just travelled to Barrie and there were beautiful robins flitting about everywhere we walked and visited. It was like a good omen, a welcome of sorts! Even on the snowy days which were few, the robins kept us company.

American Robin -- Humber Bay Park (East) (Toro...

American Robin — Humber Bay Park (East) (Toronto, Canada) — 2005, by User:Mdf (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I watched the robins from the patio glass door each day, while listening to my sister tell me about her life. I observed another bird coming along and frighten the little robin and he dropped his worm. Just this tiny detail, such a small event, but the robin was frightened only for a few seconds and then he came back looking for the worm which had fallen onto part of the fence separating my sister’s land from a neighbour’s.

An earthworm being eaten by an American Robin.

Recently I asked a fellow blogger Lance Weisser to do a miniature of a North American robin. He is very busy at the moment but he said he will do one for me, when he has some time free. That’s how much I love this little bird. It is so beautiful and inspiring!

Compared to birds that I’m familiar with, the seagull, the crow and the eagle, the robin is small and the way he flits around so unafraid and happy sounding, makes me keep looking out for the next one that will come to visit!

I’m not a bird watcher but everywhere I look in my backyard and on my lawn, on my walks around the city of St. John’s or Torbay, I see robins! Their gorgeous red breasts standing out in the green grass, and making my day a little happier!

Is there a particular bird that comes to visit you each day? How does this bird brighten up your day?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Love Seeing The Robins!

  1. ethelthedean says:

    I too love Robins! They are so cheeky and funny – the way they cock their heads to the side, and jump away from you, but not too far away – just far enough so they can still keep their eye on you.

    I always think of the robin in The Secret – the robin who showed the way. He wanted Mary to find that place!

  2. Diane Tibert says:

    I love blue jays. They are so colourful and loud! lol

    To know they mate for life adds to their appeal. It’s like true love.

    When you see one jay, look for another. Usually, if a jay is alone, they’re either young looking for a mate or have lost their mate.

  3. Pingback: Bab Robins « RJB Weblog

Leave a Reply

