My Visit To A Recycling Depot!

International Recycling Symbol 32px|alt=W3C|li...

I got so tired of seeing all the bags of recyclables in my shed that I decided to get rid of them. You should have seen me at 6 a.m. today. I was loading up my little car and getting ready for my trip into the city. I had about six stops, lunch with a friend which had to be figured out before I could jump behind the wheel, and then purchase of a gift, and return of an item.

So finally on the road I decided to get rid of the gross smell in my car. These bottles and cans had been in the shed for months. You’d think all the awful stench would be gone! I wash out my cans and bottles but my hubby keeps the covers on and something must have leaked out!

I back my car in and go to the wrong side of the depot. That side is for anyone with a card.  You can bank all your money and then cash it in later. So I was asked if I had a card, and then abruptly sent to the other side of the building, dragging four bags of stuff.

To be honest, the guy helped me in by opening the door and lifting more than half of my saved up garbage! Then the work began, the opening of the bags and the waiting! A big bathtub liner held half the recyclables at a time, the smaller bags burst opened and thrown away after asking me to know if I wanted them returned.  Then all the tops were screwed off the liquor bottles and Pepsi bottles. The glass was all thrown into a big blue container. The cans were thrown five at a time into a large bin. And so it went for about twenty minutes.

What could take so long? Well, with my luck, I got the cashier as my attendant, so every time someone wanted to get their money, I had to stand aside and hear “Do you want a receipt?” and “Thank you very much and here’s your money! Come again soon.” Totally awesome customer service at a recycling depot! Yip!  I oughta know as I designed and taught a course in customer service!

So at the end I had $19.80 and quite a chat with an attendant!  Boy, was he fast! When he was throwing five cans at the same time, I was afraid he was going to hit someone, but the guy on the other side of the big bin was doing the same thing and all cans landed where they should have!

My car smelled a lot better after that lot of garbage was gone! And my wallet was a little heavier!

More importantly, the planet was breathing a little easier!

Plastic bottles in the back of a pickup truck,...

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Visit To A Recycling Depot!

  1. The province of Manitoba REALLY needs to get on board!

  2. Darlene says:

    Good for you. We have been recycling for the past 22 years and we have curbside pick up on the west coast (in the cities at least) I am always happy to hear about someone who takes the effort to take things to the recycling depot. My daughter met the man of her dreams at the recycling depot a couple of years ago. It was appropriate too as they had both been married before so they were indeed recycled. She has never been happier!

    • I like your example of being recycled! I’ve been recycling for years but always bringing it to a school where I worked, to donate. Now I’m saving it for a dinner out! My next bags will be in better condition and bottle tops will be taken off! I’ve given up pop but occasionally we use it for mix so these bottles will be washed out and tops taken off as well. Today was a big mess, and I knew I had not checked the items as it was a little overwhelming.

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

