Six ways blogging has changed my life

i'm so excited!

i’m so excited! (Photo credit: aye_shamus)

A happy woman

Watching and Blogging

1.Energizing: I jump out of bed in the morning wondering how many people viewed my blogs over night and how many new comments I’m blessed with on each blog.  I blog on posterous.com as well, so I have to check out my St. Shotts‘ readers as well as my Pasadena wordpress.com readers! Occasionally I’ve been disappointed by fewer than 25 but most days I’m fortunate to have over 50 readers so that always energizes me.

2. Prolific Writing:  I’m finding that each day more topics come up for me to write about and therefore I write more than at any other time in my life. This is my 200th post on this blog, and I have over 100 on my posterous blog! I wondered how I was going to make it to 100! Not that I’ve reached this goal on two blogs, now I look at total readers.  On this one I’m about 700 away from 10, 000 readers! Sometimes I want to pinch myself as after six months I’ve got a lot of people reading my work. Thank you, my friends!

3. Fulfillment: Every day I feel so fulfilled that family and friends and my new friends in the blogosphere are checking in to read my posts. I’ve written many posts about my two main communities of St. Shotts and Pasadena, along with many pieces about people who have figured large in my life. I get emails and comments from many people who I otherwise would never hear from, and I learn about their lives. Sometimes I acquire new information about people and events, which is very fulfilling. Also, I get to make Blurb books of my favorite pieces for family and friends.

Image representing Blurb as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

Lady in Sudan

4. Action: Blogging gets me in action.  I walk and I take pictures. Today I planned to take photos of my icebergs but was too busy to do so, so you know what I’ll be doing tomorrow.  I want the photos for my blog. I have never seen icebergs like these and I want to share them. My mind is active. I read the freshly pressed posts and many of my followers’ posts. I make comments and I reply to comments. I talk about my blogs, and topics that I’ve read and topics I’ve written about. Sometimes my smile reaches across my face like this beautiful woman wearing this pink headware.

5. Involvement: I’ve used my blog to pass on information and to encourage people to get writing themselves. In my St. Shotts’ blog, I’ve enlisted 38 writers to write a book for their Come Home Year‘s celebrations. Some of these people have never written a story before to be included in a book.  In order to get some ISBN numbers, I had to apply as a publisher, so I’m now known as St. Shotts Publishers so that I can help other writers get published. I’ve encouraged my Pasadena relatives and friends to send in their stories for a CHY book as well. Also, I’ve put information on a cookbook for the CHY event in St. Shotts on my blog and sold over 200 copies of the book on both my blog and Facebook.

6. Opportunities: I feel very connected to my followers and my new friends. I’ve purchased miniature paintings from one blogger who I’ve admired since starting this blog. I’ve learned so much about publishing from another blogger who comments frequently on my posts. I’m about to order two books from another blogger to have sent to my granddaughters. All in all I’d like to say that the sky is the limit, when it comes to blogging. You meet all kinds of people and who knows what surprises are just around the corner? I’m open to the universe and whatever it shares with me. Kinda scary, no? But exciting at the same time!

How has blogging changed your life?

How long have you been blogging and what have you learned from it?

Share your experiences with us in a comment. I’d love to hear all about them.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Six ways blogging has changed my life

  1. stuartart says:

    You are receiving what your are giving my friend. I number amongst many obviously, that look forward to your blog dropping into my inbox. Keep it up. 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words! I’m happier with my blog than if it had been a best selling book. This is free and any reader who wants can read and enjoy it, as I can do as well with so many talented bloggers such as yourself. Once again, thanks for dropping by! Out of curiosity, what place do you hail from?

  2. Good job! Keep it coming.

  3. Dor says:

    I will save this post to remind me of the 6 things and how gratifying it is to be blogging. You are also inspiring me to start another blog with a different theme and purpose. Thanks for sharing.

  4. You have icebergs!!!!

  5. Great post! Blogging has done all of those things for me as well. It has also been therapeutic and very healing during my cancer journey.
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

    • Great that blogging has been therapeutic and healing! Your blog is famous in Newfoundland, and since you’ve been on television everyone knows who you are! Did I see you at the Dollar Store a few weeks ago(the one near Walmart on Stavanger)? Nice to hear from you!

      >________________________________

  6. Darlene says:

    I love blogging too. The best part is all the new friends I have made, including you.

  7. Pingback: My Blog Affair « 1Alive

  8. Pingback: Editing Can Be So Frustrating! « newfoundlandtraveller

  9. Pingback: Pasadena Come Home Year Celebrations Soon Begin-Workshop For Women « newfoundlandtraveller

  10. Pingback: I looked into the face of my old friends today « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

