Inspired By My Mother-In-Law’s Daffodils

“Daffodils” (1804)

I WANDER’D lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host, of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees, Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine

And twinkle on the Milky Way,

They stretch’d in never-ending line

Along the margin of a bay:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance, Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they

Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:

A poet could not but be gay,

In such a jocund company:

I gazed — and gazed — but little thought What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills, And dances with the daffodils.

By William Wordsworth (1770-1850).

Yesterday I picked ten daffodils from Mrs. Mary’s garden. She has been dead over five years and the daffodils continue to inspire me every year.  Her wild roses surround the daffodils but they continue to thrive. Last night my husband and I picked the daffodils because lately I’ve enjoyed seeing flowers at the dinner table and anywhere in my house actually!

Then I remembered Wordsworth’s poem which I did with my students each year and thought I should share the poem and a photo of my daffodils with you. For a longer write-up on the daffodils, see my other blog http://www.lovinglifeinnewfoundland.posterous.com

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, People, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inspired By My Mother-In-Law’s Daffodils

  1. How interesting, Pauline, that you chose this poem! It has been a favourite of mine for years especially at those times when I have felt like I’ve been “wandering lonely as a cloud” and then something extra special and very simple enters my life. The other poem that I have really loved is High Flight by John Gillespie McGee and Seagulls by E J Pratt.

  2. Magee not McGee.Could you make the correction before posting? Thanks.

  3. Darlene says:

    I too love daffodils and Mr. Wordsworth’s poem. It is so nice to have the memory of your mother-in-law with you via her flowers.

  4. Pauline, I love this poem and your photo is lovely, too! I also love fresh flowers in the house; they add joy to the surroundings with their beauty, don’t they? Thanks for sharing!

    • I’ve grown to love flowers more in my 50s. They make me happy when I see their colors, shapes and overall appearance. Sometimes the scents are welcomed also! Thanks for reading! I’ve nearly reached the 10 000 hits, so I’m very pleased that so many are reading!

  5. Hi! and Thank You for stopping by my site and for the mention!
    Daffodils are my favorite flower! I love this poem!

  6. Pingback: I wandered lonely as a cloud | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

