If you get the chance to dance…dance!

Irish Step Dancing Feis

Irish Step Dancing Feis (Photo credit: adwriter)

No, I don’t need any fancy music or big ballroom. I don’t care if there are ten or a hundred or just my hubby and me, if a good song is played on my record player or cd player, I am energized to move.  I haven’t done any dance lessons and although I would love to learn Irish dancing, right now, I just have my own moves!

Often on weekends or holiday, in particular Easter and Christmas or our anniversary I like to waltz around our kitchen, when the mood strikes. I enjoy it immensely and just as much as if a band was playing. In fact sometimes it is much nicer because the singers and songs are the original artists and in my mind, you can’t get much better than that!

When I visited Barrie recently, my sister and her spouse danced around the living room and it was amazing to watch! In the end I had to get up for a few steps all by my lonesome. To which my sister Helen stared and said “I didn’t realize you can dance!” Now tell me that was a compliment… It really was!  I have my own way of dancing, as does everyone else and music just gets one’s feet a tapping and one’s body a swaying to the rhythm.

If I get her permission and his permission, I will post some of the cutest dance moves! For now, I will just insert photos of strangers! Hope you enjoy.

irish step dancing world championships philade...

irish step dancing world championships philadelphia 2009 (Photo credit: Melody Kramer)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If you get the chance to dance…dance!

  1. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I love Irish step dancing! I can’t tell you how many times I watched “River Dance” when it showed up on television. There is also a Virginia/West Virginia version here done to country music from Appalachia. It is called flat footing and I love that too. I don’t do it but I love to watch that and clogging too. Thanks for sharing this. And good for you dancing when the mood strikes. It has to be wonderful exercise and mood enhancing too. 🙂

  2. Madeline Martin says:

    You need to join me at The Mews Centre on Wed. Night for Nl. traditional Dance.

Leave a Reply

