Anchors In My Life

This year there seem to be anchors everywhere in my life. I’ve already mentioned my middle son getting married and his theme is a nautical one. So naturally the wedding gift has something to do with anchors. I can’t reveal the details here, as it would spoil the happy couple’s  surprise.

A stockless anchor at Land's End visitor centr...

A stockless anchor at Land’s End visitor centre, Cornwall, England. Photo taken in 2000 using 35mm film camera. Digitally scanned on 7 November 2009. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We started a book for the Come Home Year celebrations in St. Shotts and naturally the town’s anchor which is solidly attached to concrete in St. Shotts near the community hall had to become the photo for the front cover. And ever since I’ve seen dozens of photos of my friends and family with photos in front of that very same anchor.  I’ve even had to go over and stand in front of it myself and wonder what it’s all about.  I have very little information about it and that will be a story for another day. Research. Research about the community anchor.

My mother has been dead over 32 years and it was only a couple of weeks ago I decided I had to take all the charm off her bracelets and share them amongst my family members, and you guessed it!  There was an anchor which I am wearing around my neck at this very moment! It is so popular that one of my sisters wanted it but told me to keep it for myself. How sweet is she!

And this morning just drifting off for a little nap before getting out of bed, I decided that would be an apt symbol for my publishing company. We all have anchors in our life and why not let that be the symbol that represents this little business venture. My family is anchored in St. Shotts, and the publishing company started there in order to get ISBN numbers(as any of you small publishers well know!). So seeing how this is the day for the final proof of our book, and I have a new vision in mind-someone to design an anchor to symbolize how entrenched we become in certain places and pathways in our lives, I have to go with my gut feeling on this one.

Have anchors played any role in your life?

I’d like to hear your stories of symbols and some image showing up time and time again in your life.  Over the years butterflies and robins have been showing up for me, everywhere I go, even in Northern Manitoba(one stayed on the principal’s jacket during our hour long walk!)

Have a nice day, friends.  I’ll soon be celebrating 10 000 views of this blog. Thank you for reading.  I’d love to hear from you.

An Admiralty Pattern anchor

An Admiralty Pattern anchor (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anchors In My Life

  1. Diane Tibert says:

    The anchor is a lovely symbol. I’ve seen many in my life, but none I have a personal connection with. A buoy now, that’s a different story. For me, it’s rocks.

    Good luck in the pubishing venture. You have a good start.

  2. Madeline Martin says:

    Putting the anchor there was my Uncle Leonard’s idea. I can remember my father helping him do it.

Leave a Reply

