The Travel Bug In St. John’s, NL

Newfoundland Flag

Newfoundland Flag (Photo credit: Product of Newfoundland)

If there’s a business that I think should exist all across Canada and the U.S. it’s  The Travel Bug, currently located on Water St. and in the Avalon Mall. It is a store I love to frequent every time I’m downtown or in the mall.

The store contains many items that a wannabe traveller would like to have on different kind of trips to Europe and elsewhere. There are books about different cities and countries, language books, purses, shoulder bags, suitcases, and so on.

Last week when I visited the store in the Avalon Mall I picked up some Tilley socks for my husband for Father’s Day. What a boring gift, you might say! Well, you’d be wrong.  I love all Tilley products for the longevitiy and quality of each item. These socks are guaranteed to last three years. You heard me right. I think they’re called Unholey Socks.  I could be wrong on that! (Hubby is gone home with them, so I can’t look at his second pair).  If your socks get holes in them before the three years is up, you bring them in with the tag attached to the socks,which you have the clerk write the date and price you paid for them on at the checkout. Actually she didn’t have to do that, but she was a friendly person and offered, so I accepted.  I figured my husband needed two pairs, one to wear while the other is being washed. So he’s going to try it, and see if the socks are that good! Of course I had to buy one pair for myself, as I like good socks and I like a good story, as you know. I’m going to wear them as much as I can and see what happens!

Now that is just one example of the great products The Travel Bug sells.  I bought a wonderful shoulder bag, which has wire woven through it, that helps keep the purse from being stolen. The strap has wire in it also, and can’t be cut. I think I paid over sixty dollars for it, but I felt it was worth every penny(bad choice of word)  for an upcoming  trip to Mexico. I actually used it on two trips to Mexico and had no crowds to contend with, so I feel I didn’t really put it to a good test. I am sure I will use it on other trips in the future. Of course, I use it anywhere I travel in Canada,too.

There are many other reasons why I like the Travel Bug. The customer service is second to none. The workers always appear at your location to ask if you need any assistance. They explain how each item is used. They go to the counter to search for any information they are unsure of.  They look up websites for products they cannot refund money for at the time.

When I asked one of the managers why there weren’t more of these stores all across North America, she said that they just want to remain local. We are very fortunate in Newfoundland to have these two stores. Being ignorant, I asked my sister when I was in Barrie if she had a Travel Bug store in her city, to which she replied  “No”. I was disappointed as I wanted to get something for her trip to Cuba.

If you ever visit Newfoundland and get a chance to shop at The Travel Bug, do so. It is a classy place with unique items for any seasoned traveller. Pick up birthday gifts or Christmas gifts for the travellers in your life, or for yourself.  You won’t be sorry you did!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Travel Bug In St. John’s, NL

  1. Interesting …I will definitely have to check out this place. Appreciate the info on the valuable products there!
    Those Tilley socks may just be the ”cat’s meow” for hiking.

    • They have Tilley hats as well. If you wear it out, you get a new one! I have three, one given to me by my sister Rose, one that I paid full price for, and one that I got for $40 as it had a stain on the brim. So I can have a big wind storm and still have two left!

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

