Pasadena Blogger Answering Phones On Janeway Telethon

English: A map showing the Island of Newfoundl...

English: Nurses working to bring comfort to a ...

Something you do not know about me… I’ve been a volunteer with the Janeway Telethon(raising money for the children’s hospital in our province) for the past five years or more.  I’ve forgotten how many years.  I show up early and have filled in for two or three sessions total when someone needs another person.  I love doing this volunteer work.  People are so generous in our province, and also relatives and people who have moved away from Newfoundland.

It is a rush.  You go into a room and sign forms, listen to the same spiel each year, by a really nice young man who is loud at times, but he gets his message across. He really is trying to get us hyped up!  You put on your t-shirt and then you run for the phone set-up room, where you stand in line and clap when necessary, until it is your time to rush onto the set. Sometimes you see celebrities like Alan Hawco or Karl Wells, and big shots from around the capital city. It is fun to see many of the same people each year.

So get out your piggy banks and count up all those pennies you want to get rid of now! Write out a cheque or just call up and do what you did last year. It is such a worthwhile fundraiser and I love hearing from donors from all over the province and country. What better cause could you contribute to!

Turn on NTV tonight and tomorrow to hear all the stories about miracles and let the stories loosen your purse strings! I will be on the phone for one, two or three sessions again and I look forward to hearing from you!

Dial the numbers……. you know you want to!!! (709) 579-2012 or long distance  1-877-579-2012

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasadena Blogger Answering Phones On Janeway Telethon

  1. What a wonderful thing for you to do.

Leave a Reply

