Creating Mayhem In Your Life

Sometimes in your everyday living things can get pretty boring, so you, and only you can do something about it! Stir it up.  Yes, you heard me, stir it up a bit or a lot! Only YOU can change it!

I’ve been going through something of an epiphany since I retired last June and I had to come to this logical conclusion on my own, with some messages from the universe. Only I can decide how I want my journey to proceed, occur or evolve.

So firstly, get out there and lose the fear! What are you afraid of anyway? Someone is not going to like you?  Get over that. Who really cares if so and so doesn’t like you? Perhaps you aren’t too keen on them either, and if you got to know them, they have tons of fears of their own. So kick your fear out the door, and smile! Go for it.

Be YOU!  You know what you like.  You are aware of the clothes that makes you feel sexy or with it. Go buy it or take it out of your closet and wear it. Put on that purple sweater or shirt if it gives you a grin when you wear it. And those jeans that make your butt look small, squeeze into them if you want to! It is your body and your butt after all. If it puts a little bit of a lift in your step, just do it!

Where do you like to hang out? In the parks, or in a coffee shop? Or in a mall? You are the master of your day! Free will after all affords us all that right. Do you have volunteering at a soup kitchen. Go do it. Find out where they are located in your city or town and pull up your sleeves.

Are you stuck in your life? Plan a family session to let others know how you’re feeling. Discuss it together. Your spouse, children, friends probably know that there’s something going on with you anyway. Venting, speaking from the heart, will get it all on the table.  Others will feel better about expressing their doubts, troubles, unhappiness etc. after you’ve let it all out. In my experience secrets and bad feelings never go away or make you feel good, so get rid of them by sharing with someone who needs to have a role in your life. Someone once said “Out of chaos comes order”, but I truly believe this. Things get worse, before they get better.

Have something to look forward to in your life. Plan a trip to Vegas or the Mayan Riviera. Gather friends together to walk the Camino de Santiago in Spain two years from now. Search into what is available in your own area. Spend the whole day downtown on Saturday. Take the family for an afternoon picnic along the East Coast Trail. Save for that helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. Go for a ride on the Maid of the Mist and get a little misty eyed and drenched! Save your coins for that trip around the world to cruise. Keep a journal about your dreams/plans. Lose that fifty pounds and reward yourself along the way. Only you can stir it all up and then make sense of it. Just don’t sit around being bored when there’s a whole planet out there for you to experience.

Have a nice day, friends.

English: camino de santiago

English: camino de santiago

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Creating Mayhem In Your Life

  1. You are so right. I have done more”living” in my retirement years that I ever would have thought possible.

  2. nuvofelt says:

    Confidence should come with age, not insecurity. You are right! GO FOR IT!

    • It is nice for you to come to my blog, and nicer still that you take the time to make a comment. Thanks. Yes, I’m confident most of the time, but at times I’m shy when it comes to singing or dancing! Ha! I can speak in front of 50 and not mind it, but if I have to dance, I’d rather do it in my own house!

  3. My sentiments exactly Pauline…Just do it!! Time it is a passing my friend.

  4. My sentiments exactly Pauline……Just do it !! Time it is apassing my friend.

  5. Only problem is the jeans that give my butt a lift also give my midrift a lift up and over! 🙂

  6. Great post! Love your spirit Pauline!

  7. 4amWriter says:

    I know for some people retirement is a scary time. It is important, I think, to know who you are and what you want to do, before you get to this point. Sitting around the house watching TV is a terrible way to spend retirement. Good for you for enjoying retirement to the fullest.

    • Thanks. I do my share of watching tv on rainy days, but for the most part it is just my favorite shows. It took me about six months to start feeling good about not working. I’m getting used to it now, and do not feel I need to do anything that I really don’t want to do!

Leave a Reply

