What I’ve Learned In My First Year of Retirement

Some of this I’ve known and experienced before this year, but these facts/truths listed here that I’ve encountered over the past months are profound in my life.

1. I am in charge of improving my health and physical activity. If I want to live longer, I can’t sit on my couch tapping on my computer keys. I just need to keep moving!

2. I need to declutter for my own sanity. I have scaled back what I buy and how I get rid of the things in my life. I no longer need to go to yard sales or flea markets and bring home oodles of things. I am happier when I bring nothing home!

3. I really don’t need to be doing anything. I don’t need another job to make myself feel good. I can find lots of things to do which are important and fulfilling in my life.

4. Family really does come first. My spouse, children and grandchildren are the most important people I know and spend time with. Get togethers are rich times of conversation, fun and laughter.

5. Friends are very important but if they cause you too much grief/stress/anxiety, you have to step back and wonder if you really need to see them all the time.  Perhaps a coffee get together is enough several times a month or year.

6. Eating out is not as important as I once thought it was to me! Since I’ve been tracking my food on www.fitclick.com I realize that many of the restaurant foods contain a lot of carbs, fat and protein. And sodium! I don’t need to consume desserts at all. At home I can have a fruit or veggie instead.

7. I don’t need to frequent malls or supermarkets as much as I once did. I have clothes with tags on them and I could go five years without buying another coat, dress, top or pair of shoes!

8. Quiet time is precious time. Turning off the tv ensures peace of mind.  I don’t need to hear the bad news ten times a day.

9. Just because an item is cheaper on ebay doesn’t mean I need to buy it! So I stay away from online shopping, mostly because I realize I don’t need something and because it really is too easy to spend money.

10. I find joy in small things, such as a phone call from a friend or an invitation to a wedding, or finding a letter written to me by my mother prior to my marriage. Each moment is precious and each person I meet is special. And there really are surprises each day which make it all worth while!

You could say I’ve learned more in this past year, than I did in the other 56 years of my life! Reflection is good for the soul.

Description unavailable

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What I’ve Learned In My First Year of Retirement

  1. Diane Tibert says:

    Yes. I think when we age, we realise many of these things. I’m attempting to declutter my house just so I can breathe.

    • I nominated you for a Readers’ Appreciation Award. Check out my posts today for the details. I’m always decluttering, giving away two tops for every two I buy, or selling a pair of shoes if I buy a new pair. If I could only get rid of all the paper and files I have gathered over the years!

      >________________________________

  2. ethelthedean says:

    What a lovely post! My parents have both recently retired (along with my parent’s in-law) and I feel as though this list is very timely for all of them too!

  3. When I was a younger mom, I can’t believe how much money I wasted on decorating magazines, planning the dreamy home decor that never happened. The older I get, the more practical I get. Simplicity is much more appealing now. Funny. I saw my mom and grandma go through this, but they were old. 🙂

    • I know we have all heard KISS- keep it short and sweet, but it could also stand for keep it simple and sweet. Having fewer dollars to spend or waste plays a role in helping us come to this realization. I’d rather spend it on travelling these days. I’m finding if I buy when clothes is marked down, I can get a lot more and never have to wonder what I’m wearing to a wedding or other party. Shopping wisely makes sense with regards to groceries too. Boring? I don’t think so!

  4. Realizing all this in my deferred salary year…It is so true that with age comes wisdom.I think every age or stage in life brings something and we are just evolving as we should. Different priorities at different times in our lives. How can life ever be dull or boring..impossible from my experiences!

Leave a Reply

