Belly Fat…Get Rid of it For Good!

Did you know how dangerous belly fat is to your health? Well, now there is a New York Times Bestselling book called Flat Belly Diet: A Flat Belly is about Food and Attitude. Period. (Not a Single Crunch Required. It is written by Liz Vaccariello, Editor-In-Chief with Cynthia Sass, MPH, RD. It claims to be a breakthrough plan from the Editors of Prevention. So with nearly five bucks remaining on my Chapters Gift Card, I figured “what the hell” and paid three something for it.

On the back of the book is picture of some delicious looking chocolate and chocolate, peanut butter and avocado in large pink letters. It also says you can lose inches in just 4 days and drop 15 pounds in 32 days. Oh, yes, it also claims that you will boost your energy as the weight falls off. I’ve been trying the diabetics diet on www.fitclick.com for the past two weeks and have lost 6 pounds, so I need a boost of something to get me motivated.

There are several things I like about this book. It talks about the monounsaturated fats contained in foods such as olive oil, nuts and avocadoes. It refers to them as MUFAs. They discuss a comparison between three diets and only one reduced the visceral fat(which the author calles deadly fat), that which is hidden around our organs and so on, not the spare  tire around your waist. These days I say there are two spares, ten years ago, only one! But the reasoning seems to make sense in that the stomach area  is one place that is very difficult to see a change after dieting and crunches don’t make much of a difference. What do I know about crunches anyway? The image that comes to mind is of a bar with an orange colored center covered with chocolate.

Now to get back to the book… I do digress sometimes!  Simplified you eat 4 meals that contain 400 calories and there are 84 recipes in chapter 7, along with 28 snack pack options.  Each meal contains at least one MUFA, such as pine nuts, macadamia nuts, peanut butter and green or black olives.  There are three rules to the Flat Belly Diet which sound very easy. 1. Eat 400 calories at each meal. And there are 4 meals, or you could say three meals and a snack. 2. Don’t go more than 4 hours without eating and 3. Eat a MUFA at every meal or snack.

The book also shows different exercises to follow and why working out to music is a good thing. I am quite happy with my new book and new diet. I know that after losing six pounds of belly fat, I feel healthier and have more energy. It might be a book you’d like to read, if you have any visceral fat that you are worried about. The book quotes research done to show how our health can deteriorate because of this kind of fat. Go to Chapters and sit for a while and peruse at your pleasure. 

Hope your day is full of new ideas to make your life happier and healthier.

Cover of "Flat Belly Diet"

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belly Fat…Get Rid of it For Good!

  1. Lori says:

    Let’s us know how it works. Very interesting,

  2. dorannrule says:

    Thanks for sharing this info! Can’t admit online that I have “visceral belly fat”, but even being as svelte as can be, I will definitely order that book and will look into the fitclick thing too. Your help is VERY much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

