Are you visiting the Avalon Peninsula this summer?

There are so many things to see during your time on the Avalon. You can visit the Bird Sanctuary at St. Mary’s, the Wildlife Park not far from the TCH on the Salmonier Line. There are many Folk festivals on the go during the months of July and August.  The Brigus Blueberry Festival has outdoor theatre productions/dinner theatres which I’ve heard are amazing,humorous and uplifting. Torbay has many events for locals and visitors this summer. Drop nto the town offices and ask for information pamphlets.

Bed and Breakfast accomodations abound, so check out the tourist guide for a list of them. One that I am familiar with in St. Vincents is close to the ocean where you can sit and watch whales and wait for the caplin to roll in. You can have a picnic right on the beach. The name of this B.& B. is the Whale Song B. & B. and its owners Ned and Rita Raymond are down-to-earth individuals with an abundance of knowledge and advice about making the most of your visit to the area.  There is a new facility with soup, muffins, cookies, tea and coffee for visitors not far from the B. & B.

If you are interested in getting to meet and know the residents of some small outports, just drive around the Irish Loop.  Visit Colony of Avalon in Ferryland, the oldest English settlement in North America, and do a tour of the landscape and museum. There is a small restaurant close by that serves up the best seafood chowder!  You can drop off in Trepassey or St. Vincents for the night and continue on your journey the next day, back to St. John’s or Argentia to catch the ferry to North Sydney, Nova Scotia. Or if you are brave and love the beauty of the untouched scenery, drive back towards Port Aux Basques. You can journey up to Gros Morne and climb the mountain or take a boat ride. Continue on to Lanse Au Meadows for a look at a Viking colony, a reconstruction which portrays the lives of the Vikings.

On the Avalon you can observe the birds, the whales and other wildlife. Spend two or three weeks and explore the whole island. There are boat museums, an insectarium, and ferries to islands (Bell Island, Flat Island).  Take a small boat ride to see resettled communities. Try the jiggs dinner and bakeapple jam tarts and other fare.

Most of all, meet the people who live here. Ask them about their communities and you won’t go away disappointed.

Places to See in St. John’s, NL

Signal Hill

The Rooms

The Harbour

George Street

The Arts and Culture Center

The Newfoundland Pony

Bowring Park

East Coast Trail

Cape Spear Lighthouse

The Farmer’s Market

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are you visiting the Avalon Peninsula this summer?

  1. Darlene says:

    I so wish I was coming out that way for a visit. soon. When I do, I will keep all these places in mind.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Sounds wonderful. I’m a wildlife lover, so I would be kept busy in Avalon, wouldn’t I? I’ll have to mark this place down.

  3. Anita Mac says:

    I can see I have plenty of reasons to come back!

  4. Pingback: I Shall Visit a Newfoundland B. & B. This Summer-What do I expect? « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

