The Capelin-Yum Yum- have rolled in!

I went to Middle Cove Beach at 7 a.m. on June 26 and saw that many other hungry Newfoundlanders were there piling up the capelin in their buckets. One middle-aged gentleman had a dipnet and he filled my stainless steel bowl in less than a minute. And he was kind enough to have a bag to put over it so I wouldn’t lose any of the tiny fish.

I noticed mothers running down the beach with a coffee in one hand and a child’s hand in the other. Many people were just standing watching the others filling buckets. Some dead capelin lay between the rocks, perhaps from the day before. There were several dipnets hauling in capelin. Everyone appreciates the kind souls with the dipnets!

I couldn’t wait to get back home to fry the fish.  I dipped them in flour and fried them, all eight of them! I had some homemade wholegrain bread with real butter, not margarine. Boy, were they delicious! I think I’ll go and help myself to another meal of them now.

 

 

Dried (Mallotus villosus), or ammasat a tradit...

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Capelin-Yum Yum- have rolled in!

  1. Okay, they better taste great because they really look weird!

  2. dorannrule says:

    Never heard of Capelin, but if you say so, they must be delicious! They look a bit like sardines. Probably good for you too. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. I haven’t heard of these, either, and they do look a little different, but I’m sure they’re yummy, if you say so! 🙂

  4. Haven’t had my caplin this year yet…have full intentions though. Fresh fried caplin makes a summer for me.

Leave a Reply

