Happy Canada Day to Canadians Everywhere!

I know I’m a little late but better late than never! So how was your Canada Day? I watched the concert on Parliament Hill and saw some photos of my granddaughters dressed up in white skirts and red and white t-shirts. Me, well, I’m past all that!  I’m lucky if I have a white skirt or a red t-shirt. I love my country but I’m not wearing the colors!

Canada Day Fireworks

Canada Day Fireworks (Photo credit: Bruce Guenter)

I like to get some comments on your idea of our celebration each year. We have a day off from work, which my husband enjoyed in the garden, weeding his beet, potatoes, carrots, turnips and cabbages. We enjoyed a nice supper of cod and mashed potatoes and had a drink to celebrate the 145 years we’ve been a country, although we’ve(Newfoundlanders) only been a part of the country for 63 years(1949).

So how did you spend your Canada Day? Did you attend your town’s or city’s Canada Day Celebrations? Was the entertainment appropriate for family attendance? Did you enjoy yourself? Do you have a family tradition you participate in on Canada Day? Do you wear a lapel pin or t-shirt showing you are proud to be a Canadian?  What about those of you who are living in other countries, how do you celebrate or do you celebrate?

I’m a proud Canadian and everywhere I travel I share stories about my friends and family back home. Let’s not forget the young men and women who gave their lives and time to keep us a peaceful nation. We have so many heroes to be proud of, who are remembered each year, such as Terry Fox, Laura Secord and our soldiers, and every person who helps neighbours on a daily basis.

national Flag of Canada

 

Happy Canada Day

Happy Canada Day (Photo credit: Anirudh Koul)

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Canada Day to Canadians Everywhere!

  1. Hi there!

    Me and a group of friends (we’re all swing dancers) always do what we call lindybombing on Canada Day. Lindybombing is going to any place that plays music -not necessarily swing, and lindyhop to it. Since all the Ottawa Jazz Fest concerts are free on Canada Day, we go and dance. This year we lindybomb the Lost Fingers concert and it was a blast!

    Happy Canada Day!

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Happy belated Canada Day to you too! Great fireworks photo. We enjoyed a leisure day out in the sun, cycling with a delish bbq followed by the headliner – fireworks at Parliament Hill. Perfect end to a perfect day!

  3. Darlene says:

    Happy Canada Day to you as well! We attended a barbeque at a friend’s place. There were lots of youngsters there so it was fun. I didn’t wear red and white but many did. The only thing missing was the sun but it made a brief appearance. NIce to have the extra day off.

  4. I went to church and helped lead worship–contributing mightily by making a huge mistake on the piano! 🙂 Went home took a 4 hour nap and woke with a headache. Considering I’m in the states, that passes as celebration. 🙂

    • Sounds exciting! Too bad about the headache! Don’t worry about mistakes. By mistakes we learn. You’re still wonderful, even with any number of mistakes. Thanks for filling us in.

      >________________________________

  5. Lori says:

    Happy Canada Day!

Leave a Reply

