Am I The Only One Who Gets Annoyed By Noise?

I’m finding more and more these days that I’m turning down the volume on everything, and machinery that is booming makes me cranky! Is there anyone out there who gets tense and annoyed by the noisy lawnmowers that go on for what seems like hours of my weekend? You can’t take a nap anymore or do exercise to silence.

Not only that we can’t get away from the noise, especially those loud snowblowers on a stormy day or after the storm or the construction work that has to be done, on your road or close by, but there are the people who love to rev their motorcycles and fast cars. It is very disconcerting in traffic to hear 5, 10 or 20 motorcycles passing by. I’m wondering how many accidents are actually caused by police and ambulance sirens. Though I’d love to be a paramedic, I would hate the driving part of it! I know these latter two are necessary but I find it very stressful when I’m trying to drive carefully and follow the rules of the road.

As a teacher I would tell the students about noise pollution, but it seemed that their understanding was limited in this area. In doing a unit on sound, we guessed the decibel level of many sounds and then faces seemed to light up.  “I get it!” the looks seem to say. Having worked in northern communities I realized that many children experience deafness, perhaps from being carried around on trikes and in boats with loud motors most of their lives.

Many teenagers listen to loud music while playing games and doing homework. Adults run with ipods all the time, music blasting. I have often turned up a favorite song in my car, and turned it down after a half hour of listening to Irish music. It is as if I can’t stand the noise after a while. I don’t hear many of my friends complaining about noise, but I’m sure there must be some noises that annoy each of them.

It is difficult to find peace and quiet these days. Taking a walk on an isolated trail or in a park keep me centered and calm. Perhaps I really do need that cabin in the woods that I’ve always said I would get when I get older!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Am I The Only One Who Gets Annoyed By Noise?

  1. I can’t say I am bothered by the noises of lawn mowers , or snow blowers. In fact I find them soothing when I hear them off in the distance. However, the sounds of nature are more relaxing such as birds chirping, wind whistling, water splashing on a beach or children at play.
    Those natural sounds are much more palatable . I have noticed your sensitivity to sounds around you. Perhaps you were meant to have that cabin in the woods. Go for it , girl.

  2. I get tired of noise, too. We have a push mower, and where my brother used to live in Ottawa, power mowers were not allowed. In the desert, we have a swamp cooler for cooling. It is noisy with the fan blowing all the time, but it is a cheaper cool that forced air. It also becomes white noise so the song the fridge sings doesn’t start driving me crazy. That’s a whole other story.

  3. I love this. I can relate. My ideal setting is candlelight, tea, and the humming of birds in the background. I can’t fully grasp the idea of living in a city. Everything has to be quiet for. The sound of noise has become a bit of a nuisance. Even listening to my music or watching TV, I turn it down so it’s more of a hum or whisper rather than a clanging of sounds.

  4. dorannrule says:

    I’m with you on this one for sure! In fact, I blogged about noise too. Check out this post: http://notesfromtheblogusfear.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/is-silence-still-golden/ . The cabin in the woods is a great idea! 🙂

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Now that I have kids in my life, I am ultra-sensitive to noise and I crave silence. This is one of the reasons I find it easy to wake up at 4am to do my writing. All I hear is birdsong. It’s a great way to kick off a day.

Leave a Reply

