I Shall Visit a Newfoundland B. & B. This Summer-What do I expect?

Today I got to thinking about Bed and Breakfast Establishments. A friend of mine has one, and I started to think about what I would expect to find in this home away from home.

Well, first at the top of my list would be a private bedroom with a locked door, so that my belongings would be safe when I went sightseeing. Of course, staying in a person’s house or B. & B.  a locked door would ensure privacy and  peace of mind while sleeping.

A comfortable queen-sized bed or one comparable to one’s own home would be preferable.  A clean mattress cover, sheets, pillow cases and towels/face cloths would be expected I would imagine.

Having a clean bathroom that would not need to be shared with too many people would be at the top of my list. A bathroom right off the bedroom would be optimal. A jacuzzi or soaker tub would be nice, but a standup shower would suffice.

A comfortable kitchen area with ample space to seat all people staying for the night would be preferable, with a living room with comfortable couches so that overcrowding would not occur.

If breakfast is included with the room, there should be food from all food groups. Fresh fruit should be the fruit in season or available from a larger center. Breads, muffins, rolls should be homemade that morning or the day before. Homemade jams should be available, along with the bread/toast. Choice should be offered, for people with dietary challenges. Freshly squeezed juices would be a bonus. Perked coffee and choice of steeped teas should be offered.

I would see bonuses to be coffee/tea/juice offered mid-morning or upon arrival. A muffin or cookie would be a nice touch as well.

Other bonuses would include a library containing Newfoundland books and 20-30 best selling novels, so that guests would be able to relax and read when resting or if weather is inclement. Magazines such as the Downhomer would be welcomed.

Owners of the B. & B. must be versed in the history of the surrounding areas, communities closeby, and the island of Newfoundland. Outings must be available to landmarks in the area, historical icons,  to  view the animals, lighthouses, fossils etc.  Pamphlets should be made available for tours, boatrides, shows, festivals and so on.  Kind, friendly and concerned operators would be an awesome  part of the experience.

To think of staying at a Bed and Breakfast makes me want to travel across this island right now, and discover the best places to stay. Since my finances are limited I can do some research and try one each year, and that would mean staying in a different community each year. Certainly it’s something to look forward to!  Where shall I start?

Why not comment on any hotel, motel or Bed and Breakfast that you’ve stayed in on our island? I’m sure you have many stories to tell. Recommend the best one or ones you’ve experienced.

English: A map showing the Island of Newfoundl...

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Shall Visit a Newfoundland B. & B. This Summer-What do I expect?

  1. Hi,

    If you’re spending any time in St. John’s, I recommend either Rendell-Shea or Elizabeth Manor, both owned by the same couple. Great rooms and food and walking distance to George, Duckworth, and Water Streets.

    If you’ll be in Trinity/Port Rexton area, Fisher’s Lodge is spectacular. Breakfast is served (as you like it) and dinner is available. All produce is grown in their own garden on premises. Wonderful views.

    Next time I’m back, I’ll absolutely stay at these B&Bs.

  2. Rita Raymond says:

    Hello, our B&B ,Whale Song,is in St.Vincent’s.We are in the center of the Irish Loop, so it’s a great place to stop over on your way to Cape St.Mary’s or Mistaken Point.It’s not your typical B&B as you don’t share our living quarters;private entrance, Common Room as well as a small kitchen for your mug-ups .All goodies are home baked and all of our guests say they are superb.I even make gluten -free cookies.If you are a whale lover this is the place for you.The beach here is a well kept secret as well.See humpbacks up close and personal!!Great photo opportunities as well.I was born here so I know the history of the area and I can help guests with their travel itinerary.Check us out on BB Canada or Canada Select.

  3. I think your expectations are very reasonable and most b&bs would provide what you require other than a jacuzzi. I know the one I stayed at in Twillingate was excellent, keyed room with private bathroom. Towels, facecloths, and soap were provided.
    The only thing missing was fresh fruit, fortunately I had my own, and a protein for breakfast.There was planty of home made bread, muffins, cereals, juices jams and marmalade laid out for us in the morning. Tea was in the fully equipped kitchen for us to have at our leisure at any time of the day or night. And the price of $100 ,taxes included) for three people was very reasonable in my opinion. In addition there was a livingroom with tv, internet service , a phone and plenty of brochures informing us of activities in the surrounding area. If anyone wants to know the name of the place I would gladly give the info if they go to grandfallswoman@wordpress.com and leave a message on any of my posts.
    In fact I may just write a blog about that b&b.

Leave a Reply

