Potluck Sharing On The Beach

When: Thursday, July 26, 2012 at 4 p.m. (weather permitting)

Where: South Brook Beach

Who: Anyone who wants to come

What: Sharing of food and whatever(poem, story, meditation, song, blanket etc)

I’ll be soon heading out to Pasadena to visit family and friends, and I thought about how we can have a free and easy afternoon, where we can all meet up. This is what I came up with as I was quilting a signature quilt for my son and his fiancee. Everyone likes potlucks, right?  Well, maybe only me and the people I know! Each person can bring along a container with fruit, cookies, meatballs(toothpicks too, please), weiners(already cooked), sandwiches,rolls, carrots or other veggies,  candy(for dessert) and share with whoever shows up. But besides this, bring a chair and blanket in case it is chilly. The most important part of the occasion is to show up with a cheery smile and a good sense of humour. You can wear what you like, a bathing suit or shorts and tank, whatever suits you and the weather.

Here’s the catch- you bring along something to share.  It could be a joke, a poem, a story(yours or a favorite one to share which you found inspirational), a song, a prayer, a meditation, whatever you’d like to add to the occasion. We will sit around in a circle and introduce ourselves, as there will be people I don’t know and people you don’t know. Let the authentic you shine! Tell a little bit about yourself and then share your food and gift of story, song, other.

Wasn’t this a wonderful brainstorm to have before 9 in the morning? I think so. Let’s see how many people show up. If this time interferes with anything else that is on the agenda for Thursday or Friday(in case of inclement weather on Thursday), please let me know and I’ll change the time. 

Hope you are all on your way to Pasadena or will soon be there.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Potluck Sharing On The Beach

  1. Sounds like a great idea for an afternoon! Enjoy! 🙂

  2. Darlene says:

    What a great idea. I may borrow it sometime!

  3. Pingback: I looked into the face of my old friends today « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

