I looked into the faces of my old friends today

Pasadena, Newfoundland and Labrador Location

I arrived in Pasadena today after much travelling and it was a good feeling rolling into town, a happy time when many friends and family are  visiting, a celebration of life, a sharing of our past memories and our present lives

I embrace more long-lost friends, their wrinkles and changed bodies, seeing them in the downward journey after the age of fifty, aiming to see and talk to as many as I can before I have to leave to return to my new home

One after another I see them, speak to them and laugh with them,  them seeing my changed body, me seeing theirs, seeing beyond the physical to the smile showing the soul shining through, the words only saying so much

I see their new spouses, children who have all grown up, grandchildren who are now in high school or post secondary, taking in all that is the town now in 2012, trying to picture what this Pasadena was like when their parents  and grandparents lived here

Sometimes the experience is overwhelming, as I feel some of the same emotions that represent me as a child, a teenager, a student, a neighbour, a daughter, a girlfriend, a friend, the good times and the not so good times in this place that is a part of my fabric which I wear wherever I go

The places in the town that hold so many memories, the parts that have changed so much so as to be unrecognizable, the movement of the streets to places where I once picked raspberries, the sprawl that shows the town is prospering and the population has increased, so much to take in as I walk and drive around

It seems my friends and I picked up where we left off many years ago,  experiences we remember so clearly , places we enjoyed our lives as teenagers like Harry’s Pool Hall and the beach where we spent hours growing up

My heart beats a little faster with the excitement of what the next day will hold, who will remember me and who will I have a chance to speak with, to catch up on their journey through life, each day a gift and a chance to experience life more energetically, vibrantly

Friends,

I am not in Pasadena yet, but my imagination is running a little wild, awaiting my trip to my hometown.  I will be bringing some St. Shotts’ Come Home Year books with me, to share with you.  The cost of each book is $15 and it contains 48 stories of the tiny outport where my father, Albert Finlay, was born and left when he was nearly 15. I will be talking to many of you about writing for a book of your stories of Pasadena. I’m hoping many of you will want to acquire a copy of this book entitled St. Shotts, Newfoundland: Our Home, Our Anchor. If you see me, please ask about the book as I’ll be carrying them in my car.  Also, you can get one from my Aunt Madeline Whiffin at her home. If you definitely want a copy, email me at pfinlay55@gmail.com and I’ll seek you out.

Thank you for reading my blog over the past eight months and for buying this book! By the way, I have three stories in the book and my son’s fiancée is the editor! I’m really quite proud of the great job the writers did and the fact that 39 writers submitted stories. The first 300 copies are nearly gone, so in order to recoup the money spent on the second 300 books, I need to sell 100 copies to be right back where I was before the order. Transcontinental has done a great job with the printing of the book. I believe any Newfoundlander or visitor to our island would enjoy the variety of stories in the book.

Pauline

P.S. I will be seeing you soon. Can’t wait!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories, People, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.