The CHY Festivities in Pasadena Were Delightful

I was in Pasadena from Monday to Sunday and each day was wonderful, even the one rainy day we had. That was the day Trooper came to the field and played their hearts out!

Each afternoon there were activities on the field, such as tattoo painting, balloon animal creation, magic show, bouncy castles, bingo and so on. The antique car show was spectacular and I wanted to take a few of the cars home with me. The Heritage display was wonderful, although I would have liked to see a completed history of Pasadena to buy.

Each evening there was a 50/50 draw and many bands to keep our toes tapping and our butts jiggling. I especially enjoyed the Irish music but I wished for someone to dance with and my aunt or uncle were not interested. My sister Betty visited from Ontario and we did have a few dances in the dark.

All week I craved a plate of french fries and gave in to my cravings on Thursday night. I shared with everyone, so I ate only a few!! They were so good. My aunt kept me fed with her lovely salads and meats. Her casseroles are second to none! Did I mention that her desserts are the best on the island?

It was great visiting my brother and his wife.  They celebrated their 11th. wedding anniversary yesterday.  Congratulations Peggy and Brian!

Seeing friends who I hadn’t seen in 20 or more years was awesome. It was great catching up on their families and experiences. And of course, true and tested friends were wonderful to visit! I see my friends Linda and Alvin every year but it is exciting spending a few hours with them on their deck or at their kitchen table.

This year I managed to sell many cookbooks and St. Shotts Come Home Year books. Most of my friends and relatives were happy to get a copy to read. I could have sold 100 cookbooks but I didn’t have them. I missed a photo opportunity when five ladies were sitting on the bleachers, each with the cookbook opened.

Thanks to the committee who put all the great events together!  You went above and beyond the call of duty in doing this eight day extravaganza. Give yourselves a pat on the back for me.  I’m sure many other attendees would agree.

Some memorable times:

1. When my sister won the 50/50 draw two nights in a row!

2. Being invited to and spending time with the Murphy Family

3. Getting to know my Uncle Joe’s wife Debbie(who is a real sweetheart!)

4. Eating Aunt Madeline’s cold plates and chicken/broccoli casserole

5. Seeing the small antique car with eyelashes!

6. Going to yard sales with my aunt and cousin(and finding a lot of pottery)

7. Visiting a woman from St. Shotts and her family(and getting a tour of her home, and also eating a bowl of homemade soup)

8. Enjoying cold plates with 9 other people at Aunt Madeline’s

9. Visiting the beach

10. Walking around Pasadena and taking pictures of many homes, hanging baskets and other items

11. Staying up late on the field listening to good music

12. Seeing Terry and Billy and Eileen and Helen and Coopie and everyone on the field

13. Talking to people about writing stories about life in Pasadena

14. Getting up early and staying up so late

15. Listening to stories about my family(Uncle Joe was 16 pounds when he was born, the biggest baby born in Pasadena. Before him Paul Walsh was the biggest at 12 pounds!)

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The CHY Festivities in Pasadena Were Delightful

  1. Darlene says:

    Sounds like a great time was had by all. And soon you will be making your way to the west coast. what a delightfully busy summer you ae having.

  2. Pingback: Still Remembering My Visit To Pasadena « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

