The Surprise of What Tomorrow May Bring

How many people wake up each day wondering “What’s coming my way today?” or “What surprises are just around the corner?”

I had a day full of surprises, or to be more accurate, one big surprise! A lady named Jewel.  Yes, a head person at the library system here in Newfoundland, who lived nine years in Corner Brook but has lived so long in St. John’s that she considers herself a townie! What a lovely visit we had in her office about our community book about St. Shotts!

First, let me say that Jewel loved our book. I love the book but to have a stranger, who knows books, say this, blew my mind! She said this was the type of book that is needed in every library.  People love to read books by real people. They love reading about communities and the essence of these places. I was so excited that I’m sure my mouth was open wide the whole meeting!

Having just left the medical center where I sold two books to the gentlemen taking my blood and a lady who might be related to me through our grandfathers’ side of the family, I was floored when Jewel informed me that she’s recommending 50 copies of the book to be placed in 50 libraries in Newfoundland! And maybe even more! What an hour of uplifting and information that was!

So, dear readers, friends, what surprises are you meeting each day in your lives? I’m sure there are lots of bloggers who would like to hear about your experiences, too.  I apologize for not writing much these days, but a week in Pasadena, a week in Victoria, BC and a week in St. Shotts- all of life’s surprises kept me occupied! And the selling of our St. Shotts’ book! After 300 copies were sold, I ordered another 300 copies, so for postage of approximately $15 for the book and $3.70 postage per book, you can have a copy to enjoy. Email me with your address and how many copies you would like  pfinlay55@gmail.com.

What surprises have you encountered lately? Please share.

Do you like books of nonfiction stories? If so, support the community of St. Shotts, Newfoundland, by buying a copy. All profits are going to this community.

finalcoverforbookmay18

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Surprise of What Tomorrow May Bring

  1. Darlene says:

    I wish there was a LOVE button. This is such great news Pauline. to have your books placed in libraries all over Newfoundland! I got my books in the mail today and had a quick look through. It is very well put together and I recommend everyone buy one for their home library. You have worked hard on this project and I wish you well with it.

Leave a Reply

