It’s All What You Make of It!

That statement sounds so familiar that it must be said by someone! That’s how I summed it all up during my early morning rise today. After visiting a good friend of mine last night following an hour of Zumba, and listening to her tell about her trips to Signal Hill to watch the sun rise for several consecutive mornings, I thought  “What a brilliant thing to do!” So I vowed I would try to get up that early(as I used to do when working) and enjoy the drive downtown to look at those wonderful hues and contemplate life. Yes, I vowed to myself, not anyone else…not my husband or friend!

So grabbing Andy, my android cell, when I chanced to open my eyes around 5 a.m. and checking the time of the sunrise which I believe said 6:48 a.m., I thought I would turn over one last time and snooze for an hour! But sleep would not come and I imagined what else I could do if I tore myself from my comfortable cocoon… breakfast at Cora’s on Water St. as it opened at 7 a.m. Coffee at Macdonalds along the way. Chuck a load of laundry in the washer. Start my middle son’s anniversary quilt(which anniversary, I wondered!)… Start packing for my next trip to Ottawa. A nice long hot shower and then drying off with my new white spa towels! Set up a table at Bidgoods to sell our book of stories(my new self-made part-time job!)  You guessed it.  I could not get back to sleep so  I jumped out of bed, showered and then made myself a beautiful omelet with spinach, tomatoes, small pieces of cheddar, a sprinkle of parmesan, added to that a Cherry Swirl Keurig coffee and a lovely whole grain roll. Now how could Cora’s compete with that!

No driving necessary. I sat back in my old chesterfield, snug in my old cotton robe, and enjoyed my cheap breakfast, made my very own hands! I had a beautiful view of the Atlantic through my window and I kept my eyes fastened on the horizon, feasting my eyes on the changing sky, at the same time listening to the crows flying about the neighborhood, trucks and cars moving towards their destinations of work and obligations. I never did get in the habit of listening to the radio in the morning!  I slowly devoured my breakfast, thankful for every morsel! My eyes and head are full of the glorious images of this part of the universe and my mouth and belly are full of the generous offerings of sustenance that keep me alive and healthy! It really is all that you make of it!

Enjoy your day in your part of this wonderful planet.

Sunrise as seen over the Atlantic ocean from C...

Sunrise as seen over the Atlantic ocean from Chatham, MA, USA. Taken Oct 2003, by me, User Debivort. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s All What You Make of It!

  1. I stay up late, not because I really need to but it’s just bad habit. And then early mornings become unbearable. I have often wondered, often, what it is like to be an eary riser by habit. I miss the beauty of the earths calmness. I have often come to the conclusion that it would make a great start to me day but then old habit wrestles the thought down. This post has inspired me. I hope tonight I let myself go to bed early so my day starts as pure and calm, as strong and commited as the sun.
    Thank you for your inspiration.

    • I have to fight with myself to go to bed. I, too, enjoy the late hours as well. But I have always been an early riser, enjoying the quietness of the morning hours. I like to hang out my laundry in my housecoat, and see the street come alive with walkers, both human and animal, and enjoy my first cup of tea or coffee. Yes, try it. You just might like it!

      >________________________________

  2. dorannrule says:

    Relishing the small things, the simple things, the joys of home – that’s what I call truly luxurious. Great post!

  3. Darlene says:

    You really know how to enjoy life Pauline. I love this post. My Dad always said the same thing, “It is all what you make of it.” So very true!

  4. A most delightful view on this topic Pauline!

Leave a Reply

