A Day Of Remembrance-Sept. 11

Where were you when the plane slammed into one of the Twin Towers? How many times have you been asked that question? I remember exactly where I was and the shock of it all. I was at Holy Trinity Elementary School and as I was on a prep period, I walked through the library and my friend who worked there had a television hooked up and she told me the shocking news.  We stood watching the news broadcast, and the first pictures of the plane hitting the tower. It was heartbreaking to watch and my day was saddened by all the people who lost their lives that day. As we received updates, the news was bleak and it was hard to concentrate on doing the mundane things of life.

So many people lost their lives that September day, so many innocent people who had no idea the day was to be their last. Besides the people who worked there, the firemen, policemen, and building workers, so many families were torn apart forever. Planes were stuck on tarmacs in Gander and St. John’s and through the kindness of many Newfoundlanders, their needs were met, as far as meeting them was possible.  Many friendships were forged that day amidst all the terror and misery. The worst and best of humanity was shown on this day.

If you can’t remember where you were during 9-11 you were probably too young, but I’m sure you’ve heard your parents and grandparents discussing it.  Saying  a prayer for peace and protesting when you feel so inclined may be small acts but each small act can lead to a better world.  Mother Teresa said “Do the small acts of kindness with a lot of love.”  I’m wishing you peace in your life in whatever part of the world you’re living.

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

