Cheaper Cell Phones and Internet Please!!!!!

I just learned that the charge for my internet connection is $55 plus tax. Seeing how I’m paying $67 plus tax for my android phone I do not wish to pay so much for both the connection and the cell phone. I know people who pay upwards of $300 a month for phones for all family members. How are the phone companies getting away with charging such high amounts for phone service?

So…here is what I’ve done!  Yes, I’ve taken action.  I’m refusing to pay that much for internet connection.  I can’t get out of the monthly payment for my phone for the three year contract but I can cancel my internet connection. I give the required one month notice and bring back the modem. As of October 6th I will have internet on my cell phone only.

How will I survive without my internet connection?  I’ve depended on it for many years, for preparing lesson plans for my classroom, doing powerpoint presentations, for banking, for communicating with parents and family/friends and so on. Now what? How is my new cell phone going to take care of all of these functions/processes? Quite frankly, it’s not!

How will I deal with the lack of internet?  First, I’ll take advantage of all the free internet out there. Macdonalds and airports comes to mind.  Second, I’ll use libraries to do my blog posts and to write stories. For filling out forms and writing letters, I’ll do these at the library also. It will take some getting used to, but imagine that not that long ago, we didn’t have internet at all. When I completed my masters degree in 1991, I typed my field study on an electric typewriter!

It amazes me how Bell can give new customers a year of cheaper internet, and then raise the price without your awareness. Yes, they say they send you a message on each bill stating that it is going up, but if you’ve had trouble like me, you can’t even check your bill at all online.  At least with the paper bills, they came and you had no way of not seeing the fine print!

It really disgusts me when I have to make six or seven calls because the cell phone and internet are bundled and one company doesn’t know anything about what your charges are or why your cost has gone up.  I’ve spent almost two hours on the phone trying to find out what my bill charges are!  I wish they’d get together and allow one to know what is going on. Why not keep the price low for all customers?

Am I the only one peeved off with cell phone and internet charges?  Are cell phone charges and internet charges ever going to become affordable for all of us?

Internet Access Here Sign

Internet Access Here Sign (Photo credit: Steve Rhode)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheaper Cell Phones and Internet Please!!!!!

  1. dorannrule says:

    Good luck with this enormous challenge! You have my admiration.

Leave a Reply

