Not Just Another Sunrise

Joan and Kathryn

Joan and Kathryn (Photo credit: hartjeff12)

This is the time when I usually like to write my posts to my blogs. The sky is  showing a palette of pinks and the crows are landing on roofs close by, chatting to their friends in the process. The road is quiet and my washing machine is the biggest distraction I have. I sit here and watch the sunrise. Quietly without any demands on my attention, I drink my Midnight Magic coffee and reminisce about the life I’ve lived.

I think about the times when everything flows so smoothly and divinely that it really feels like there is someone watching over me and directing my path in life. An angel on my shoulder? The big eye in the universe-our creator? Or is it my own maturity, my lack of drama over things that don’t go my way? Whatever it is I feel inspired to imagine if everyone could be this peaceful and contented on a daily basis.

It got me to thinking about the calm people in my life. My mother-in-law Mary who I didn’t see upset in all the years I knew her. I saw her kneeling to pray often and I saw lots of laughter and smiling. My own mother Joan who had many reasons to be hurt and upset, but who for most of her short life smiled and made the best of everything. Several friends come to mind. Judith who has a perpetual smile since her two grandchildren came to keep her company. Brenda who brightens up every room she enters with her big smile and outgoing personality. Geraldine who sees the bright side of every situation and whose laughter is contagious. I could go on and on. But you get the point. We can choose to be drama queens and get our opinions heard or live our lives with our actions speaking louder than our words.

On this beautiful September day I wish peace to all my readers, and joy in the feelings of being alive. Count your blessings and see if you can brighten up just one person’s day and it will most likely reflect back on you!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Just Another Sunrise

  1. Darlene says:

    What a lovely blog. Such positive thoughts. You are blessed to have such wonderful people around you. I try my best to be positive and to appreciate the good things and people in my life. But I can always use a reminder like this. I am blessed to have you as a blogging friend.

  2. Pingback: pink resurgence. « Sick with Poetry.

Leave a Reply

