Camino Anticipation

I received tthe latest edition of John Brierly’s guide book for my camino de Santiago. It kept me awake until nearly 3 a.m. Dogs on the walk can be deterred by two walking sticks. Petty theft in bigger villages along the way..Avoidance of the large highways. Filling up water containers as there are no fountains for many miles. Lots of walking beside loud motorways. Okay, so the camino has changed a lot over the years. Every day I’m learning more.

I also received Shirley MacClaine’s book
on her camino in 2009. I’m really enjoying it so far. It is getting me all reved up.

A few nights I spoke with my friends who did the camino and you can read an article written by Phil Riggs in the Downhomer on the online site. Goggle downhomer and camino and it should bring you to it. Enjoy. This couple from Glovertown love to explore many countries. I met them in Qikitarjuaq when I taught with them for five months. They spent most of their careen up North. Very adventurous folk!

There is a wonderful couple who walked the camino with their baby boy Indigo during January. You can watch the whole journey on youtube. Google youtube and walking the camino. Wonderful videos! Matthew Armstrong carried the 30 kg backpack. Victoria carried the baby who is totally adorable. They have many videos under beyourpotential.

Time is growing close and I’ve been walking with my hiking boots and backpack, my Gregory Jade.
My Black Diamond hiking poles are getting some use as well.

Soon I will meet my fellow peregrinos.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Camino Anticipation

  1. You need to connect with Randall St. Germain a young man who has done the camino twice and has written about it. His website is http://www.caminomyway.com/ He is a very nice person and willing to share stories and experiences. The book I enjoyed the most about the camino is “What the Phsychic Told The Pilgram”, by Jane Christmas. It is funny and enlightening. I am so impressed that you are planning to do this.

  2. A friend recently gave me Brierly’s book. What a great resource for a potential pilgrim! Have you decided when you’re going? I’m leaning towards summer 2014.

Leave a Reply

