Is it really two weeks before Christmas?

Yes, friends, it is only 14 days to that big day and will we remember what Christmas really means. Love in the shape and form of a small baby born to two very poor people who travelled far to keep their child safe! When we look into the store windows it is hard to recall what it is all about. At this time of year I try to remember the significance of this Christian celebration.

I will enjoy all my Christmas visitors and their yarns of the years gone by. I’ll dance up a storm with any mummers who happen by and I’ll tip my glass with all of them. I will welcome the looks of wonderment on the faces of my little granddaughters and grandson. I certainly will sit and enjoy the Christmas carols and the lights on the Christmas tree. Most of all I will cherish the special hugs and kisses of family and friends. Midnight Mass will bring back memories of my parents and grandparents, along with earlier years with my three little boys, and I will think of that little baby born so long ago in a manger in Bethlehem.

May all of you find peace, joy and love this Christmas season. Take some quiet time, a walk in the country, a visit to some folk who have trouble getting out and about, a little waltz around the kitchen with your spouse or a lonely neighbour. Remember we are on this Earth to make a difference, and what better way to do that then to invite an old widow or widower over for a nice meal or buy a turkey for a family that is down on its luck?

Merry Christmas from my home to yours this Christmas!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it really two weeks before Christmas?

  1. ethelthedean says:

    I too look forward to a good dance this Christmas! My husband and I are flying down to Halifax on he 22nd, so it will be a Maritime holiday for us this year 🙂

    Wishing you nothing but laughter, love, and light this season! Thank you for sharing such a brilliant and beautiful post. x

  2. Darlene says:

    All the best for a peaceful Christmas full of love and joy. From one coast to another with love. XO
    PS My Mom loved the book and is enjoying reading the stories from your home town.

Leave a Reply

