What’s the news?

I bet all of you out there who like to know about your hometown have a contact, usually a friend or relative who keeps you up-to-date on the news. My contact is Aunt Madeline. She has been a good friend since I was a little girl, and we’ve grown to be good friends in our old age! When I am in the town of Pasadena, I’m expected to stay with her. She is a great cook and runs a smooth household. We have a good many laughs together and have taken a few road trips up to St. Anthony and Rocky Harbour.

Recently I spoke with a former resident and frequent visitor to Pasadena, Cecil Haire, and he told me he was interested in learning more about his grandmother Stella Ryan who had been a midwife for many years. The connection to Aunt Madeline and myself? Well, Mrs. Ryan had born me and Aunt Madeline’s brother George was the first baby born by her. Small world, heh? She was very important in the history of our small town as she born hundreds of children in her lifetime. There are whole families whose children were born by her. I agreed with Cecil that a book needs to be written about his grandmother. And he would be a good person to do it!

Often I speak with my good friend Linda about friends who are about the same age as us. We always enjoy a good chat. It is hard to get off the phone when we start discussing our children!

So when you want to keep in touch with the news from your hometown, who do you contact?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

