Camino Here I Come

The countdown is on for the trip to Paris and then a train ride to get to my destination of St. Jean Pied de Port in Southern France. All the fears I have I’ll be carrying them on my back, as one write so aptly put it. I’ve done the self defence course, I have a personal alarm, and I’m ready to put this ole body through a good 37 day workout. And to think I don’t really like to walk!

Yes, I take the occasional stroll with hubby or a good friend or my family. Mostly to keep them happy or to make me sleep better. But for the most part I hate walking, especially up hills or down steep embankments!

I have the right gear. I bought waterproofing for my boots, only to discover they are waterproof already. I have a small binoculars so I can see where I’m going in the early morning mist or fog, or if there’s an arrow up ahead. The trail is marked with arrows and clam shells. I have a few items that I never thought I’d have- a personal alarm that is as loud as a jet plane and a shewee. What is a shewee? It is device so that a lady can pee standing up!! I even have Holy Crap so that I won’t starve the first week. That’s a cereal with lots of protein and the recommended portion size is 2 Tablespoons.

I have my flights booked, even my hostel for the first night. I have my Euros and the Pacsafe belt and waist purse to carry it in. I have sunscreen and my Tilley hat.

Yesterday I got on the scale and weighed myself carrying the backpak, a Gregory Jade. Then I weighed myself. 12 pounds. Not bad for all the money I’ve spent. I do have a small Tracker bag for the items I need on the plane which weigh an additional 3 pounds so add another pound of first aid items and medicines, I should be able to manage the under 20 pounds.

I’ve made up my mind that if I need a day off, I’ll take it. After all it is my trip and I make the rules and break them! It should be interesting meeting people from all over the world. Pushing myself to perform can only make the body and mind stronger.

Every day there seems to be someone else in my life or someone comes into my life to help me with my upcoming trip. Today I met a lovely family who gave me some Chinese medicines to help with mosquito bites or any emergencies that could happen along the way. The items are light and can be added to the backpack without undue trouble.

If you are walking the camino and see a 5 foot 4 inch woman with a green pack and she seems to be talking to herself while trying to climb the many hills encountered, say “Hello!” She could be wearing a Canadian flag and a navy hooded jacket. She will be glad to meet you and if you need a little reiki or reflexology, just ask and if she is not too tired, she will help you get over your pain or ailment, whatever it may be.

Buen camino to all you fellow travellers!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Camino Here I Come

  1. Darlene says:

    Oh my! This is really happening. I am so very happy for you. You are totally my hero. I can’t wait to hear all about it. When do you leave?

  2. To the lady who thrives on challenges….Cheers to you ! You will conquer this and sit comfortably one day after overlooking the ocean in St.Shott’s and tell us all about it. Can’t wait! Good Luck my friend…

  3. creativeexfoliation says:

    I’m so excited for you. I hope you’ll blog a bit along the way … or, at least, I can’t wait to hear all about it when you return.

  4. I will be looking forward to hearing about your adventures when you return. Good luck, my friend.

    • You surely will. I am hoping to blog several times a week. There is Wifi in many of the alberques. I would like to upload some video as well. Who knows? I might learn how to do that. Sometimes I think the big adventure is all in my head and then I see the Gregory Jade sitting on the floor awaiting being put on!

  5. gullyjumper says:

    Pauline, you certainly sound prepared for your adventure!! You are going to enjoy this so much, you won’t even remember the hills or the walking because the sights will be so breathtaking. I’m very proud of you for planning this for yourself. It will be the trip of a lifetime and you no doubt you will make many friends along the way. I hope you keep us posted on your journey. Best of luck and HAVE FUN!!!!

  6. We stumbled over here from a different website and thought I
    may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  7. Desiree says:

    Good day! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for the great information you have got right here on
    this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

Leave a Reply

