If You Were Walking The Camino, What Would You Worry About?

Someone wrote that pilgrims on the camino de Santiago carry all their worries on their backs in their knapsacks. I think all my worries are in my head. I’ve prepared what I think I should carry on my back and therefore I will not have to worry about rain, being cold, too much sun on my face, and so on.

Worry #1 Protecting myself from unwanted attention
I’ve decided to wear no jewellry, and bland clothing. I don’t want to draw attention to myself. I have hidden places for money and important papers. I’ve had my hair cut very short.
Worry #2 Bedbugs at the albureques
I have a plastic cover for the bunk mattresses. I’ve written down places to avoid.
Worry #3 Being robbed on the journey
I’ve several Pacsafe items to help keep my money safe. I’m not carrying a lot of money. I will use banking machines along the way. I’ve mailed all my important info on Visa to myself. I won’t be flashing a lot of money around. There was a suggestion to keep around 30 euros close by for each day’s purchases and payments at alburques.
Worry #4 Being assaulted along the isolated paths
I’ve made up my mind to walk with someone else most of the way, friends I make. I’ve also done a self defense course. And I’ve bought some personal alarms.
Worry #5 Being injured or sick
Can’t do much except have insurance, which I do. I’ve brought a knee brace and medicines.
Worry #6 Becoming malnourished or dehydrated
I’ve bought some breakfast cereals and nut mixtures, also protein bars. Most people adjust to the new diet and do okay so I am just adding to the standard breakfasts I’ve heard about which consist of only pastries and coffee. I will carry a litre of water at all times and fill up at each fountain. I will avoid coffee.

What would you worry about if you were going on this 790 km walk?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to If You Were Walking The Camino, What Would You Worry About?

  1. I would worry if my legs would hold out…lol That’s quite the distance and I ‘m an avid walker.I think the only worry is to try to relax and enjoy the journey.There are good and not so good wherever you travel and even if you don’t travel at all. So..Don’t worry Be happy!

  2. creativeexfoliation says:

    Avoid coffee? Phew! I’m not sure I could do it. 🙂

    You are smart to consider all of these things. I’ll be honest – when I’ve imagined my own camino, I’ve never considered safety concerns (aside from injury, that is.)

    • If I stay for an extra day somewhere I will drink lots of coffee. I’ve read that drinks with electrolytes are recommended to replace all the stuff eliminated from sweating. Eating salty pretzels to replace salts lost as well. Learning lots every day. Thnx for reading and commenting.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. dorannrule says:

    You seem to have covered most problems. I guess I would worry about bathroom breaks and what to do about sudden urges. 🙂

    • I have a shewee but for the bigger worry I will have to do as others do! I am looking for a small shovel. May have to buy one there. One time up North had an opportunity to camp out on the ice and watch the Inuit hunt/fish and I turned it down for that same worry. Where would I go to the washroom? I guess with 150000 people walking the camino each year one would have to worry where to sit while taking a break! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    • Many bums are stuck up and I´ve seen others run into the woods. I tried my shewee but not good! So much for the new gadgets. Peeing is not a problem since often there is no one close to you.

  4. Candace says:

    Wow, best of luck to you!

  5. P says:

    I wish you many days of successful hiking
    I am glad I found your blog and will be with you along the way.
    Can’t wait.
    Paula

    • I just have a chance tonight as I´m in the alberque in Maneru early. It rained and I was cold so I¨m happy to be in a nice historic town. The young man running this place couldn´t get the coffee machine working so he went out and got me a coffee and said he had a present for me. I was so happy!

  6. Donna Hewitt says:

    Pauline I am late arriving to your blog! It is very interesting as you have a flair for including the little details that help us imagine your trek. You sure gave careful consideration to being prepared. I hope you read Wild! by Cheryl Strayed. I have found it useful to recall the really tough things people have survived and written about. Someday someone will be inspired by your writings, no doubt.
    What would I worry about? All that you did but #1would have been unable to complete it for whatever reason. All the best.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

