In Ayegui tonight…exhausted!

I couldn´t get this uploaded earlier so it is not the same post. I left the last alberique at 7:30 a.m. and arrived at 2 p.m. I know I didn´t eat enough all day so I won´t make that mistake tomorrow. LOvely going, hardly any hills. Off to Los Arcos tomorrow, 19 or 20 km. Today I think I did 18 km. Tired and just finished the pilgrims´S meal for 9 euros and the bed cost only 6 euros and the kind German who looks after things let me rummage through leavings of others for a fleecey to wear. No such luck! But I did find two towels which will come in handy for rolling wet clothes and providing privacy while sleeping. I should add that one year Peter, the German hospitalero, walked the camino 12 times, once for each apostle. He said he did it in 26-28 days. Imagine his determination. He seemed such a gentle man, very attentive to all the pilgrims. Eager to show his newspaper article with him holding his 12 compostelas. Also his world map with pins where everyone came from. I put the first pin there for Newfoundland. I know I am not the first Newfoundlander to walk the camino but I was the first to put a pin on Peter’s map. Thanks for your dedication to the camino and the pilgrims!

It is chilly in the large room. Had supper with a German girl and two Americans who are like two lovebirds in their late 70s. They are taking 60 days as the man has his knee injured. They mostly walk the roads just like the Italian lady Ilsa who is 82 and has walked the camino twice. And did I mention she is a smoker. She hates chatter in the bedroom as she calls the bunkbeds area and her back back is light so I think she carries only underwear and cigarettes! Just me guessing, of course.

Until the next time I can get on..

Tips For New Camino Walkers:
1. Pack light. I recommend no more than 10 pounds.
2. Drink lots of water
3. Sheep wool is great between toes and in hiking boots to cut back on friction.
4. Stop every hour to 90 minutes to take off wet socks, apply Vaseline or other cream and massage your feet and legs.
5. Plan on a couple shorter walking days to rest or take a day off per week.
6. Ask for half a pilgrim’s meal if you are not hungry. If you arrive before 3 p.m. You can get the pilgrim’s meal in some places. Search around for good food.
7. Never skip meals as you need nourishment.
8. Carry a bag of energy foods: nuts, fruit, chocolate
9. Acknowledge people who are kind to you with “Gracias” or “Mucho gracias” They love when you speak their language or make an attempt.
10. Send unwanted items home.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, the camino, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

