Made it to Los Arcos

I started at 6 this morning, without breakfast and walked to a small farming village. There on top of a big hill I ate my breakfast with a young man from Ireland. He was very friendly and said he had played traditional Irish music in St. John´s before. He went on ahead of me, as I saunter slowly along. Then I met a young nurse from a small country adjoining Spain. I told her too to go on ahead as I was too slow. Suddenly oodles of people were catching up and passing me. Then I saw a horse with a man riding it. What a beautiful horse it was. I could have done with a ride about that time. Then the sun came out and I took a pee break and changed from my hiking boots to my Teva sandals. I ate the ham and cheese sandwich I had bought at the tiny hilltop cafe. I drank two bottles of water as well.

I knew that when I got to Los Arcos I wanted to stay at the Austrian alberique. It is small and very friendly. I was asked if I wanted a massage just as I paid the 9 euros for the bed and 3 euros for the breakfast.So in an hour´s time I will be in seventh heaven, and I may jump off the table as every muscle is sore. It will help me sleep, I´m sure, and also make me better for tomorrow´s walk. I haven´t had a day off yet and I´m wondering how I¨m going to get to Santiago by June 4 if I don´t up the number of kilometres to 30!

Stay tuned… yes, I did see some bums and other parts today as there are no toilets anywhere! You can use it in a cafe but these are few and far between. Looking forward to meal of the day, the pilgrim´s meal at some restaurant close to here. Then to bed by 9. I´m pooped!!!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made it to Los Arcos

  1. dorannrule says:

    Oh, I think I can feel your pain and the relief of a massage, a meal and early to bed! Good luck…. keep going. I find myself pulling for you every step of the way.

  2. creativeexfoliation says:

    I hope it was a great massage … you’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

