Spain is a Beautiful Country

When I came to Spain back in 1975 I never heard about the camino de Santiago. Barcelona was beautiful and I was with two good friends, Brenda Brown and Brenda Geoff. This time I am here alone, but not really. I´ve met wonderful people from all over the world. I walked with two ladies from Australia for my first couple days and we got along famously. Then for two days I was following a Norwegian lady who just happens to have been born in 1955, the same year as yours truly. And now I´m on my own again, but there is an older many from Winnipeg who I´ve been chatting with over the days whose name is Earl. There is an Irish musician who is in his twenties, whose name is Peter. Also, two older guys from Wales, Peter and John, have been passing me and then drinking a few ales and I´ve been passing them. Then there´s the other Irish guy who is walking the camino for the fourth time. So you are never really alone on the camino.

So the trail is like a living thing. Someone passes and wishes you ¨Buen Camino¨and you shout the same thing back at them. Bicycles whiz past and you shout Buen Camino umpteen times a day. You run into the bushes to get a little relief from all the water you´re consuming and then sit for a few minutes to relieve your feet. Often now I massage my feet and put on clean dry socks. It makes the last 4 km feel better and go faster. I try to start around 6 or 7 a.m. so that most of the walking is done before noon, before the sun gets so powerful.

Just some thoughts from the camino trail! I´m not writing much in my journal so I will need these to remind me of where I was and what was going on.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spain is a Beautiful Country

  1. Very much enjoying your blogging ….It’s certainly great advertising/showcasing and is encouraging me and I bet others to think about taking on such an amazing adventure!!

    • It is not easy but so much to see and do and you would love the terrain for walking. so easy to follow. got lost once for 20 min but realized my error and started downhill and back on track…a small town but following the yelllow arrows is sometimes tricky…

      >________________________________

  2. I am enjoying the walk with you though vicariously. Love hearing the little details, Wish I were actually there too.

  3. dorannrule says:

    How I admire you and this fabulously exciting effort! 🙂

Leave a Reply

