From Belorado to Burgos…cold, wet and muddy!

What was I thinking? Did I believe it was going to be easy? Sure, I knew there would be all kinds of weather and all kinds of trails. But I sure wasn´t ready to freeze to death in Spain. I walked 12 km to Villafranca this morning when I really wanted to stay put, nice and cozy in bed. But I jumped out of bed and was on my way with my new poncho on from the get go! I had hoped I wouldn´t need it quite so soon. But since it cost me over 40 euros I´m thankful that it did its job of keeping the top of me dry but nothing could keep my feet warm and dry!

So no breakfast and searching for a cafe hours later, we found a spot and decided this was for the birds! And not even the birds were charming us on a day like this. We waited for the bus to Burgos and arrived here warm and happy, after two hours wait! The municipal alberique is beautiful and well equipped and it has the view of the most beautiful cathedral. I tried to photograph it but my battery was dead. Just my luck. My phone is dead and so is the camera!

So I´m off to Astorga tomorrow, skipping 8 or 9 days of walking, as I cannot do 30 km a day. I will have to return next year to do that part, which I might add is the easiest part of the camino.

Hopefully I will be well rested after a day on a bus and a good night´s rest!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From Belorado to Burgos…cold, wet and muddy!

  1. You have done well, girl. Take a rest and continue on. I wouldn’t have been able to do what you have.

  2. Norma gillingham says:

    So proud of you can’t believe you’ve walked so far…enjoy the journey you can go back another time. Stay safe ..lunch and glass of wine on me when you get home . Hugs

  3. dorannrule says:

    You are amazing to have come so far on this amazing journey. I can’t tell you how impressed I am.

Leave a Reply

