El Acebo to Ponferrada

There were times when I wondered if I was following the camino trail. I was slowly slugging down a stream with layers of old rock and loose stones making the way hazardous. Then when I decided to take some photos and a snack break many pilgrims came along. A LOVELY Korean girl stayed a while asking how my legs and knees were. Then a young Australian man stopped as I was eating my banana. I offered him some food and asked if he would like something. He stayed with me for ten minutes. A half hour later I met him again in a village and when I told him the banking machine didnt work he offered me some money. I stopped at a lovely hotel and had bacon,beans,eggs anf cafe con leeche.All for 5.1 euros. I sat with an Indian man who had been at one of the previous alberiques.

I walked out of the small town and along the way met Linda the Texan and a BC woman. My bag was not sitting right so the BC lady adjusted it for me. The two laterpassed me on my way into Ponferrada. Linda was fluent in Spanish so I asked where she learned spanish and she told me she lived in Mexico for two years.

As I walked farther I looked for a hotel as I was needing some rest. I came to Hotel El Costillo and got a room immediately for 45 euros. After an hour in my room I decided to stay a second night. Eventually after washing me and my clothing I ventured out to explore. I found the old castle which is mindblowing in its largeness and beauty. It is a national treasure. I plan on going back to see more tomirrow. An old Spanish lady walked me to a banking machine. She stayed with me until I got my receipt. We hugged and parted. I went to a supermarket and treated myself to a kilo of strawberries and some chocolate and a bar of Dove soap. Then I sat for a hamburger and beer for five euros. And would you believe it..I got lost!!! With the help o about ten people I made it back to room 109. are 60 000

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to El Acebo to Ponferrada

  1. Charlotte says:

    What an amazing adventure for you! It seems you are meeting some wonderful people along the way.. I look forward to meeting you back in Torbay,seeing your pictures and hear your story. I am Tonya’s Mom, Charlotte, in Gambo.Keep safe and enjoy.

    • Thanks Charlotte. It is so interesting to be meeting so many people on the camino. The freedom of walking on a mountain in Spain and not feeling afraid is new to me. When I sit for a break on a big rock I realize Im not alone as 6-10 people greet me with “Buen camino!” or stop for a chat. Yesterday was one of my favorite days so far! See you in Torbay.

    • Are you at Tonya’s this week? We should get together.

  2. Peter Thomas says:

    Sounds like you’re enjoying your self.must be taking the day off.Starting to warm up again now.

    ________________________________

    • I will be back to walking tomorrow. 17+kilometres toCacabelos.only 5000 people. I got a map today of how to get out of the city in the morning. I want to be there before the hot sun midday. There are five hospices there so no trouble finding a place or another 1.6km at Las Angustias has 70 beds. Id actually like it better. Should be nice.

  3. dorannrule says:

    What wonderful people you have met on your journey!

Leave a Reply

