To Sarria The Long and Awful Way

I didn´t realize when I started out this morning from Triacastela that I would be nearly six hours walking.  My poor muscles are not used to this much exercise! So I had water enough, nuts and chocolate. I planned on taking many breaks and not rushing. Well, once you get started you try to do more and more. By the time I was getting into the city limits I was so tired of asphalt that I didn´t want to walk any more. I met up with the Italian senior who is half my weight but walks just as slowly.  We got together and she told me I spoke like an American, like Popeye her folk like to say.  I set her straight and told her I´m Canadian and most Americans don´t talk like Popeye.  By the end of it I was trying to flag down taxis, hoping someone would take pity on me, but no such luck.  So after resting about an hour and a nice hot shower, I´m ready for the pilgrim´s meal, whatever that may entail. I´m staying at Casa Peltre with my clothes in the washing machine, awaiting drying.  I´ve had a hot cuppa coffee, checked on my Spanish ladies as there are only four of us in the room tonight. I do need the small amount of supplies I´ve come in with! NO problems thus far but you can never be too careful. So with about five days and 100 km left to do, bring it on!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Sarria The Long and Awful Way

  1. dorannrule says:

    Push on! Push on Amazing Woman. I am groaning with you on your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

