Less Than 90 km to Santiago

How the time flies! When I started my journey back on May 1, I was filled with trepidation.  How do I get to St. Jean de Pied de Port? Lots of questions and not a lot of answers.  Now that I am nearing the end of my time here, it´s what was I so worried about? No scorpions or bears.  No robberies or assaults.  Lots of great memories, nice people and nice places. Many interactions with people from all over the world.  Some friends made. Yes, the ole body is feeling the tiredness. The feet and legs want out!! But many people have given up and many are limping around. They´re doing the camino hussle! I likened it to the day following giving birth. No, I still do not like peeing in the bushes or finding a place at the end of six hours of walking. No, I am not all that fond of the food.  I think there should be benches every kilometre on the camino and toilets spaced every two kilometres anyway. But it´s winding down and the experience was worth every cent. Would I do it again? Right now I´d say ¨no¨ but ask me again in six months and my answer might have changed.  I know so many of my friends who would love to do this.  It is so different than ordinary everyday life. But it is life, and like everything else it does get tiring after a while. 

 

I´m having an easy day today as there is no big rush for me.  But many people started in Sarria as it meets the required 100 km to get the certificate saying you walked the camino. So the trail is fuller and busier. More people to pass me! Each to his own, as the saying goes.  I´m asking directions to the arrows right now to a man I´ll probably never see again. And it is raining because I see the pilgrims putting on ponchos already.  

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Less Than 90 km to Santiago

  1. Darlene says:

    You have done so well. The memories will be priceless.

  2. backcoveknob says:

    You have made beautiful memories & I have really enjoyed reading about your journey…Take care!!!!

  3. Emmie says:

    I’ve been reading your posts on facebook and only today found your blog! I’m amazed by what you are doing, you are far braver than me! Good for you!!!

  4. dorannrule says:

    It is truly an amazing thing you have done. I am in awe.

Leave a Reply

