Memories From My Camino To Santiago

Sunburned lips on several woman
Black toenails on an Australian man
The gypsy family with two children and two donkies
A gypsy with a nice horse going to O’Cebriero
A very friend mother and daughter from  Quebec
Two couples from St. John’s in Burgos
All the ugly grafitti in Ponferrada
The street cafes in many towns
The nightlife of families in the town squares
The many pilgrims’ meals and the best and worse of these
The young Pregnant Italian Ariana
The old but fast Italian Annalisa
The very kind large German Guido
The Greenland girl the first two days
The Australian ladies who walked so fast
The Austrian nurse I gave my Peace bag to
The Iris lassie Yvonne who walked a full day with me
The Spanish man who helped me find the alberique in Boente
The many alberiques esp the noisiest ones in Burgos and Boente
The Slovenian ladies who treated me like their youngest sister

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memories From My Camino To Santiago

  1. Edie Dunphy says:

    When will you get home?

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Libby Noseworthy-Boss says:

    I just found your blog while searching for ‘camino’ information. I’m from Corner Brook originally, and have great memories of Pasadena Beach, back in the late 1960’s when I was a little girl. My husband and I will be walking the Camino Portugese in September.. (only about 300 Km of it for now,) so I was thrilled to find your blog and follow your experiences. Rest up Peregrino, and Buen Camino.
    PS/ My French is ‘borderline’, and the Spanish lessons I’m trying are mixing with my limited French. Oh me nerves!

    • Amazing experience and good luck with your Portugese camino. There are two that I read about…the 340km and 150km ones. I would like to visit Fatima so I might go next May and then do the 150km trek. This year’s camino was too long and I got a little homesick. Two weeks is long enough for me and 15-18 km per day. I wish you all the best. I had lots of worries but all for naught. Bathroom breaks are all along the trails. The bicyclists didnt bother me. No bears,scorpions or mosquitoes. I had a belt for the big money and wore it all the time. I had a waterproof bag to take with me in showers as these were often tiny,cold and no hook for hanging anything. Wash socks and underwear in the shower if you see signs saying not to wash clothes in sinks. Try to keep your weight in pack to 5 or 6 kg as you carry it all the
      time. Mine was 9 km but next time it will be a smaller pack with only 5kg.

  3. Summer says:

    Sweet you,

    I’ve an award for you, for the person who you are and the things you share with the world..

    http://summer4soul.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/peace-is-a-free-choice-so-is-this-award/

    Thank you for that..

    Namasté, Summer

  4. Thanks Summer
    You are very kind!

Leave a Reply

