That’s Camino!

I got used to hearing these words over my month long camino. Sharing breakfast with my new Slovenian friends, I commented on their generosity. “That’s camino!” they smilingly replied.

When I arrived at Monte de Gozo after too many hot kilometres  of walking the lady who reminded me of Betty White ran towards me and hugged me. She went to the other two friends and told them OUR PAULINE has arrived. They had arrived and stayed in the 400 bunk modern accommodations for five euro a night.

I met all three of them later for the pilgrims’ meal where we shared my salad as I was not very hungry. We also shared a bottle of wine which had to be purchased separately here.

“We are going to show you Santiago tomorrow,” they told me.”We are first going to find your hotel to drop your pak. Then we will go to the office to get your compostela, your certificate of completion. Then we will go to the cathedral. We will show you the city .”

I was thrilled. At the end of my huge adventure I was being taken care of. The biggest thing was I had someone to share the greatest moments with! I was not alone. How sweet was that!

The climax was amazing. We walked the last 5 km into the city and the day turned out even better than I imagined. Coffee and croissants after getting my certificate and attending mass at the magnificent cathedral with the golden altar. Then we had a picnic and photos in the park. Later we parted and there were hugs and kisses all around, with a few tears thrown in. It truly had been an unforgettable end to a tremendous month. These three ladies had made it a memorable journey. I can hear them now “That’s camino!” I forgot to mention that we exchanged addresses and will be sending postcards.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s Camino!

  1. Darlene says:

    The friends you make on these adventures are always a blessing. I can imagine reaching the end would be quite emotional.

    • Nice but emotional! I tried not to think about it too much, just experience it. I think the camino is addictive as I’m already thinking about my next one, perhaps the Portuguese Camino. I’d like to go with a friend or two or three next time. I will take a 5 kg pack next time and my ipad. Oh yes, a water bladder. Learning from experience! You might enjoy it too. Do it one week at a time for an easier camino.

      Sent from my iPad

      • Darlene says:

        I’ve heard the Portuguese Camino is very nice. I think once you have done something like this, you learn and it gets easier. I may try it one day. You have shared some great tips here too. Thanks!

      • It is appealing to me after doing the camino Frances. Now I know it is easy and wonderful. Next time I hope to have a friend to walk with.

Leave a Reply

