Cost of Camino

I figure $3500 for the total expense. Could be $500 cheaper if no hotels were used and another $500 cheaper if nothing purchased. Of the $2500 the airfare came from Scotia Rewards and it was $940 so out of pocket $1500. But what fun if I didn’t get to shop a little? 

 

Before leaving home I paid my cell phone bill in double and my light and power bill in double, so no bills to worry about. I also overpaid my Visa by $400 in case I wanted to use it. I mostly took out 240 euros each time I used an ATM. So perhaps 4 or 5 times I found a machine. I took 500 euros with me which I stashed in 4 different places: my money belt, my neck purse, my sneaker and zippered pocket.

Now to save for the Portuguese camino! Have 200 euros which I didn’t bring with me, on the advice of middle son. Few coins left as well!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

