How Soon I Forget

I was interviewed by three students in one town in Spain. I laughed out loudly when one girl asked me my age. My country had been easier to respond to, but my age seemed less so. Okay I’m 58 but when asked so innocently by 15 year olds I laughed and said “You really need to know my age?”

Another question was about the signage along the camino. At that point in time I was content with the yellow arrows but later I managed to get lost a few times and think I was lost several other times. When I started to walk towards the bull I knew I was going back to Pamplona instead of walking away from it. Another morning when my Norwegian friend left to go on the bus I followed a road which was well groomed but turned out to be in the opposite direction. And once going down a mountain I wondered if I was lost and would have to walk up the mountain and I prefer going down although it is harder on my knees. No yellow arrows there! But the most important thing is I made it, in all about 550 km!

And one question that is asked to all pilgrims: Why are YOU walking the camino? After being retired nearly two years I am bored and am trying to find out what to do next. I thought this pushed me to my limits and gave me lots of thinking time.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Soon I Forget

  1. And at age 58 you did make it! Congrats to you..Be proud of yourself and your age!

  2. dorannrule says:

    Kudos to you for even thinking about making the journey! Your trek was a remarkable experience – for you and for all of us out here following hou.

Leave a Reply

